The Sheridan Libraries

Data Sources for International Relations (SAIS)

Industry & Company Data Sources

Industry Data
Company Information Data

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Viewpoint This link opens in a new window
Source for respected country analysis reports, data, and industry information. Click on "Geography" to search by country.

Industrial Commodity Statistics Database (UN)
Industrial Development Organization (UN)
Current data online; older yearbooks in print

IBISworld This link opens in a new window
Industry coverage, including U.S., China, new industries and energy.

International Telecommunications Union (ITU) Statistics

Following is a selection of databases offering company information for both U.S. and international companies. For even more possibilites, including some resources covering the U.S. only, see the Eisenhower Library's Business Guide.

Hoovers Online This link opens in a new window
Profiles for publicly traded and privately held companies, including Chinese companies.
Mergent Supply Chain This link opens in a new window
Searchable profiles of thousands of public and private U.S. and international companies, fulltext industry reports, and a wide range of indicators.
S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Company and industry analysis, news, and information on executives, stocks, bonds, and mutual funds.
LSEG Workspace
Formerly called Refinitiv, LSEG is useful for tracking industries, companies, private equity and venture capital deals, mergers and acquisitions, loans, bonds, commodities and other market activity. Read the instructions for setting up an account here: https://databases.library.jhu.edu/databases/database/JHU07311
Mintel Oxygen This link opens in a new window
Primarily U.S. market research reports on brands, products, and consumers.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Click on "Companies"
CSMAR Databases This link opens in a new window
CSMAR is a unique, comprehensive database of China stock returns, covering all companies listed on the Shanghai Stock Exchange and Shenzhen Stock Exchange. Coverage from 1990. Access via Wharton Research Data Services. First-time users must register first.
Nexis Dossier This link opens in a new window
Who owns whom: public, private, U.S. and international companies and their subsidiaries. Create lists of foreign firms operating in the US and vice versa. NOTE: Limited to one user at a time.
Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Formerly ReferenceUSA, this is a comprehensive business directory of public, private, nonprofit, and government organizations (N. America). Created customized lists by industry,etc.
Mergent Supply Chain This link opens in a new window
Searchable profiles of thousands of public and private U.S. and international companies, fulltext industry reports, and a wide range of indicators.