Visual Resources Collection
Public Collections On Artstor
As of June 2018, Public Collections on Artstor became accessible to anyone—subscribers and nonsubscribers alike—at library.artstor.org. When Artstor Digital Library users arrive at library.artstor.org they are able to see the public homepage and have access to the 1.3 million images available in the Public Collections without logging in. Public collections come from institutions around the country such as the Bucknell University: Artists' Books Collection, the Cornell: Hip Hop Party and Event Flyers collection, and the Wellesley College: "Serve the People!" Images of Daily Life in China during the Cultural Revolution collection.
Public Collections on Artstor are indexed by major search engines for increased discoverability, and will be easily shareable using browser-based “clipper” tools like Evernote and Pinterest. The Artstor interface includes tools for easily generating shareable URLs and citations for item records and users can also download images and details for offline use.
JHU's Public Collections in Artstor
In addition to the VRC's institutional collection in Artstor, the JHU Visual Resources Collection (229,500+ images) and the JHU Sheridan Libraries, Special Collections, there are also several JHU collections available through Artstor's Public Collections.
- Johns Hopkins Archaeological Museum
- Johns Hopkins University: Aranow Collection: 1981 Tour of China
- Johns Hopkins University: Chinese Public Health Campaign Slides 1950s-1970s
- Johns Hopkins University Collection of Middle East-inspired Sheet Music
- Johns Hopkins University: Papyri Collection, from Oxyrhynchus and Fayum