Visual Resources Collection
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Visual Resources Collection
- Where to Find Images
Start Searching!
Looking for images, but not sure where to start? The VRC recommends first considering how you will use the image. Are you looking for images to present in class? Are you looking for images to publish or use online? The answer will determine the quality of image you need and relate to the uses allowed for the image. Learn more about Image Use Guidelines.
Teaching, Presenting, Studying, or Researching? Start with Johns Hopkins Digital Collections in JSTOR. Learn more about our collections.
JSTOR has over 3 million images beyond our local collections. Learn about the image collections in JSTOR.
Still looking? This page will walk you through many more places to search for images!
For more ways to find images, see the Images page on the library's Art History Research Guide and see the Finding Images guide.
Interested in using images in Digital Humanities projects? See the Digital Humanities guide.
Open Access and other Databases on the Open Web
Selected GLAMs with Open Access Initiatives
- The Digital Walters (Digitized manuscripts from the Walters Art Museum collection with high resolution downloads available, free for any use under a Creative Commons CC BY-SA 3.0 license) and Walters Ex Libris (Manuscripts from the Walters with page turning capabilities, also free for any use under a Creative Commons CC BY-SA 3.0 license.)
-
Free High Resolution Images from the Victoria and Albert Museum (The Victoria and Albert Museum in London is allowing scholars and individuals to use high resolution images free of charge for academic/scholarly publications, study and research and in student theses. See the link for full terms and conditions of use.)
- National Gallery of Art (U.S.) Images - High Resolution Downloads (More than 20,000 open access digital images are available free of charge for download and use.)
- Open Access at the Cleveland Museum of Art
Selected GLAMs and Websites with Searchable Online Collections
- American Numismatic Society
- ArtsConnectEd
- Art Images for College Teaching (AICT)
- Art Institute of Chicago
- Baltimore Museum of Art
- Barnes Foundation
- BAM/PFA Art Collection
- Boston Museum of Fine Arts
- British Library Digitised Manuscripts
- British Museum
- Brooklyn Museum
- Detroit Institute of Arts
- Dumbarton Oaks
- Duke University Digital Collections
- Frick Collection
- Gallica (Gallica is the digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France and its partners.)
- Harvard Art Museums
- Indianapolis Museum of Art at Newfields
- LACMA
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
- Louvre
- Mauritshuis
- Metropolitan Museum of Art
- Morgan Library & Museum
- Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
- Museum of Modern Art, New York (MoMA)
- National Gallery, London
- National Gallery of Canada
- Nationalmuseets Samlinger, København
- National Portrait Gallery, London, UK
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery
- The Newberry
- Norton Simon Museum
- Penn Museum, University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology
- Philadelphia Museum of Art
- Princeton University Art Museum
- San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
- Seattle Art Museum
- Smithsonian Institution
- Smithsonian Galaxy of Images
- SMK Open (Statens Museum for Kunst, København)
- Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin
- Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute
- The State Hermitage Museum
- Tate
- Uffizi Gallery, Florence
- Walters Art Museum
- Worcester Art Museum
- Yale Center for British Art
- Yale University Art Gallery
Additional Image Databases at Hopkins
In addition to Artstor and JSTOR, the Johns Hopkins community has access to images through databases such as:
- EBSCOhost Image Collection A wide array of maps and images, with an emphasis on world news and events, and contemporary and historical photos of people, places and the natural kingdom.
- Oxford Art Online: Images Images from Oxford reference works
For more ways to find images, see the Images page on the library's Art History Research Guide and see the Finding Images guide.
Roman de la Rose Digital Library
- Roman de la Rose Digital LibraryThe Roman de la Rose Digital Library is a joint project of the Sheridan Libraries of Johns Hopkins University and the Bibliothèque nationale de France. The creation of this resource and the digitization of manuscripts from the BnF was made possible by generous support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. The goal of the Roman de la Rose Digital Library is to create an online library of all manuscripts containing the 13th-century poem Roman de la Rose. We currently have digital surrogates of more than 130 Roman de la Rose manuscripts, and our collection continues to grow.