East Asian Studies
Local Digital Collections
Chinese Public Health Campaign Lantern Slides (1950s-70s)
Educational slides played an important role in the history of public health campaign in P.R. China. From the beginning of the 1950s, Chinese government's health policy put an emphasis on public hygiene and preventive treatment. Along with radio, posters, and movies, slides became a favored propaganda tool for educating the public. Slides were inexpensive to produce and disseminate. They were widely used in school teaching and various public health activities/campaigns in both rural and urban China. These health slides aimed at disseminating scientific and medical concepts and behaviors among a population with very different understanding of what constituted illness and well-being.
To access the digitized slides collection, click on the link here.
The Chinese Anti-Corruption Campaign and Social Media Web Archiving Project
This project is a joint effort and collaborations by John Hopkins University libraries, the George Washington University libraries, and Georgetown University libraries. It is funded by a Mellon innovation grant administrated by the Council on East Asian Libraries to use and adapt web archiving tools - Social Feed Manager and Archive It to build two collections of Microblogs (Sino Weibo) and blogs respectively. The content is focused on reaction to and commentary about the current Chinese government's anti-corruption campaign from within China.
- The Chinese Blog Collection at JHU
Scope: Using Archive It, a web arching tool from Internet Archive, we collected 13,00 blog posts covering from 1991 to 2017. The blog posts came from both national and regional blogging sites, addressing corruption cases and issues regarding various government branches and industries, including different levels of government administrations, military, energy, education and so on.
- The Chinese Weibo Collection at GW
Scope: Dynamic social media sites such as Weibo requires more specialized software tools. Social Feed Manager (SFM), open-source software developed by the George Washington University Libraries with the support of grants from the Institute for Museum and Library Services and the National Historical Preservation and Records Commission, is designed specifically to enable archivists and researchers to build collections of social media data.SFM provides the ability to collect content from Twitter, Tumblr, and Flickr; this project's grant from CEAL supported the GW's development of a new Sina Weibo module for SFM to enable this and potential future Weibo archiving efforts. After selecting and following particular Weibo accounts that were likely to have posts discussing the anti-corruption campaign, SFM has harvested roughly 63,000 Weibo posts since mid-2016; the collection continues to grow. For more details about Social Feed Manager, please visit the George Washington University Library's SFM page.
Access: Due to Weibo Terms of Service, this data archive is only accessible onsite at the George Washington University. Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org for information.