Chinese Cultural Revolution Posters Collection (1960s-70s)

42  images of propaganda posters and a picture book from the Cultural Revolution era (1960s and 70s) have been digitized and are available on the Jstor platform. They can be accessed from the link here. The original print collection is housed in the Special Collections.

Chinese Public Health Campaign Lantern Slides (1950s-70s)

Educational slides played an important role in the history of public health campaign in P.R. China. From the beginning of the 1950s, Chinese government's health policy put an emphasis on public hygiene and preventive treatment. Along with radio, posters, and movies, slides became a favored propaganda tool for educating the public. Slides were inexpensive to produce and disseminate. They were widely used in school teaching and various public health activities/campaigns in both rural and urban China. These health slides aimed at disseminating scientific and medical concepts and behaviors among a population with very different understanding of what constituted illness and well-being. 

To access the digitized slides collection, click on the link here on JScholarship, or link here on JStor.

The Aranow Collection: a 1981 Tour of China

Photographs taken and collected by Johns Hopkins University’s Ruth Aranow during a 1981 Tour of China organized by Inter-Pacific Travel. The date of this trip is notable as the US and China reestablished diplomatic relations in 1979.

To access the digitized collection, click on the link here on JStor. 

The Chinese Anti-Corruption Campaign Blog Collection

Scope: Using Archive It, a web arching tool from Internet Archive, we collected 13,00 blog posts covering from 1991 to 2017. The blog posts came from both national and regional blogging sites, addressing corruption cases and issues regarding various government branches and industries, including different levels of government administrations, military, energy, education and so on.

Access: Users can find the link to the collection via the JHU online catalog, or go to the Archive It site. For any questions or assistance, please contact Mr. Yunshan Ye at yye@jhu.edu.

Frank Johnson Goodnow papers

 Frank Johnson Goodnow, Ph.D., LL.B. (January 18, 1859 – November 15, 1939), President of Johns Hopkins University, was an American educator and legal scholar, born in Brooklyn, New York. The collection consists of about 12,000 items and spans the years 1880 to 1940. The majority of the material is Goodnow's correspondence, but there are also lectures, addresses, writings and printed material.

Dates: 1880-1940

Paul Myron Wentworth Linebarger reminiscences

Paul Myron Wentworth Linebarger (1871-1939) was an American lawyer and legal adviser to Sun Yat-sen, 1907-1925, and to the Chinese Nationalist Government, 1930-1937. The volume which forms this collection is a bound, carbon copy typescript entitled "China Smiles Through" dating from 1937-1938.

Dates: 1937-1938

Walter Finch interview of Owen Lattimore

Abstract Owen Lattimore was born in the United States in 1900, but was raised primarily in Tianjin, China. He became an influential scholar and political theorist in the United States on Chinese and Central Asian foreign affairs. He taught at Johns Hopkins University from 1938 to 1963. Senator Joseph McCarthy accused Lattimore of espionage and treason based on suspicions of Lattimore's international work. Walter G. Finch was a graduate of Hopkins (1940) and after earning his law degree in 1973, he...

Dates: 1973 August 14

Chinese Cultural Revolution poster collection

Abstract: Collection of Chinese propaganda posters depicting Mao Zedong and scenes from Chinese life, 1956-1986.

Dates: 1956-1986

Chinese Cultural Revolution handwritten documents

Abstract: A collection of handwritten documents from the Chinese Cultural Revolution era.

Dates: 1950-1976

Chinese Public Health Campaign slides

 Abstract: This collection includes Chinese public health campaign slides from the 1950s through the 1970s. Educational slides cover a wide range of public health topics, including tuberculosis, whopping cough, diarrhea, and malaria.

Dates: 1950s-1970s

School of Advanced International Studies Hopkins-Nanjing Program records

Scope and Contents The records of the School of Advanced International Studies Hopkins-Nanjing Program range in date from 1982 to 1998. The records document the daily administrative activities of the center and the faculty members and students who have participated in the program. Included in the administration records are telex and fax correspondence and memos used by the Office of the Executive Director of the program to communicate with the program center in China. The records also include student records...

Dates: 1982-1998

Jin Jiang collection of Chinese pro-democracy movement materials

 Content Description This collection contains materials associated with the 1989 Tiananmen Square protests and the Chinese prodemocracy movement. Specifically, it contains newspaper clippings in Chinese and English, promotional materials associated with the 1989 book June Four: A Chronicle of the Chinese Democratic Uprising, which Jin Jiang translated, materials created by the Federation for a Democratic China, and materials from the July 29, 1989 meeting of the First Congress of Chinese...

Dates: 1989 - 1995

Open Access Databases for China Studies Resource Guide (by ACLS)

Japan Search: Find digital archives in Japan