Engineering

Explore engineering articles, patents, standards, and other information.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Library Catalog -- Books

Search the library catalog for books about the general topic. Always refine your searches by date, format, or other characteristic.

For example:

  • "solar cells" -- This phrase is in the TITLE, and this search is limited to FORMAT of "book" and "print," LOCATION Eisenhower, and PUB YEAR 2010-2017
  • solar thermal -- These two words are both in the TITLE, with the same limits as above. Still too many results, so the search needs to be narrowed down more.

Access Engineering

-- Best results come from using the search box on top
-- Remember to search phrases (words that you want to appear together) with quotation marks
-- If you get too many results, narrow by subject (on left)

CRCnetBASE -- Best results come from using only the "full text" line:

 

How are two ways to find out about the history of your technology.

Review Articles: 

  • In your Compendex searches, add the word "review" to the TITLE 

PatentsThe easiest patent database to use is Derwent Innovations Index.
(For patents help, ask Jim Gillispie on MSEL A-level; jeg@jhu.edu.)

  • Try some search words until you get results that look relevant. Be patient and don't forget to try singulars *and* plurals
  • The default is "latest date" -- look at the last patent on the last page, which will be the earliest in that search
  • Choose "ORIGINAL" to see the real patent
  • This isn't perfect a perfect way of determining the earliest use of your technology, but it will give you a general idea, as well as descriptions and drawings of various designs of it

 

Loading

SPECIALIZED INFORMATION

NOTE: If you are using a trade name as a search term, you may not find too much unless you use the business databases. For the databases listed below, you should also use the name of the technology itself.


Library Home Page --> Guides by Topic --> Engineering

  • This guide's Online Resources page lists databases with articles from scholarly journals, trade journals, and other sources.
  • To find out what's in a database, click the little dot at the end of its name

 

1. START with Compendex -- This is the biggest, best database for articles and conference papers in *all* engineering fields.

  • "Add search field" means "add another row"
  • Fix the date! This database goes back to 1884!
  • Put words in the title, or somewhere else, or mix them up


2. SCOPUS -- Broad sci/eng database with scholarly articles

  • The "+" on the end of the row means "add another row"
  • You must click on LIMIT for everything under it to show
  • Fix the date!


3. Academic Search Complete -- Broad coverage of all fields

4. Government sites -- U.S. Energy Information Administration, and U.S. Department of Energy (not a great search engine)

 

 

You will need articles from other subjects such as Political Science.

On the library home page, choose Articles and Databases --> Databases --> Databases by Subject:

1. U.S. Energy Information Administration -- Along with statistics, this site provides data about such things as capacity and generation.

2. Science news:  General Science Full-text includes articles from scholarly and trade publications, including Science, Nature, and the New York Times

3. Business news:  ABI/INFORM includes news about new products and other business-related topics

4. Regular news: Guides by Topic --> News and Newspapers -- The sources under "Core" are current U.S. newspapers

Guides by Topic --> Citing Sources --> More Styles (choose IEEE)

  • Here are examples of how to cite articles, books and books chapters, reports, and more
  • Remember that ONLINE sources require MORE information, such as the date accessed
  • Always err on the side of too much information rather than not enough; it's extremely important that your professors, readers, and future employers be able to find the information that you cite

NOTE:  In the IEEE PDF, at the bottom of page 16, are notes about how to cite things in the text of your paper.

Guides by Topic --> RefWorks

  • Start using a citation manager as soon as possible! You'll need it forever.
  • RefWorks is the one that's free and supported through JHU
Loading