Resources for academic research in economics.
INTERNATIONAL STATISTICS & DATA
- U.N Development Programme - Human Development Data
Statistical tables that accompany the Human Development Reports showing key indices of human development around the world. Includes the UNDP Human Development Index (HDI)
- International Monetary Fund Data
Harmonized global statistical database from the International Monetary Fund. Includes Balance of Payments, Government Finance Statistics, International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics.
- World Bank Open Data Portal
One stop source for data available from the World Bank.
- Global Financial Data
A library subscription database with a comprehensive collection of financial and economic data, compiled from original data sources, covering more than 200 countries and extending back to 1000 AD (dates covered depend on each specific data series). JHU user can access the database upon creation of a personal account. 1) Click Register and be sure to user your JHU email address.
- Connect by S&P Global
IHS Connect (formerly Global Insight) provides news, economic indicators, and a vast array of recent and historical business and economics data series for the domestic and international markets. Select "Economics" to access data sources. Alternative access through WRDS is available to current JHU faculty and graduate students who have approved WRDS accounts for their academic research.
- OECD Statistics
Access to over 300 datasets compiled by the Organization for Economic cooperation and Development (OECD)
- World Development Indicators Online
Selected economic, social and environmental indicators since 1965 for 209 countries. Data drawn from World Bank and 30 partner organizations.
- Statistical Abstracts of the World
These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere.