German Language and Literature
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- German Language and Literature
- In-Depth Literary Research
Resources, both online and elsewhere, for the German language and literature.
Find All the Books on a Subject
|
|
Go beyond Hopkins Use the databases below to find books and other materials not found at Hopkins. Request directly online. |
- WorldCatSearch all US and many European research libraries
- BorrowDirectSearch and request books from the libraries of the Ivy League universities plus University of Chicago, MIT, Duke, and Stanford. Expect delivery in 3-5 days.
The "BDSL"
Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach-und-Literaturwissenschaft. (the "BDSL" or "the Köttelwesch").
- Absolutely essential resource for German-language scholarship. Many resources not in any database.
- Print: Z 2171.B56 (1945-1984) for print volumes (good for browsing).
- The BDSL online covers 1985 to present.
Tools for Grad Students and Faculty
|
|
These documents are absolutely essential for grad students; faculty too. Nearly complete lists of the most importand and valuable resources for scholarly research in literature. |
- Secondary Literaturean almost complete list of resources for finding critical studies on German literature
- Primary Literaturean almost complete guide to resources for identifying and locating manuscripts, books, and other primary sources.
Databases and Online Resources
|
|
Journal Articles and Web Resources While the MLA International Bibliography is an essential resource to use, there are many other databases that index articles, book chapters, and other scholarship on German literature and other humanities disciplines. |
- The complete list of library-licensed resources is here. Find not only other indexes, but e-text archives, encyclopedias, dictionaries and e-journals
- One of the most important Web sites for German literary scholarship is germanistik.net
- Google BooksNow has the complete page images from thousands of books, most of them "old". Use the Advanced Search for more precision. Try searching on a phrase from the book you're looking for. Or keywords that will easily identify it.
- Zeno.orgMany texts are online in various e-text archives, like this one.
- Digi20Recent but out of print books from academic publishers in the humanities and social sciences. Can be used like Google Books to find hidden content, book chapters and essays in collections.