Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach-und-Literaturwissenschaft. THE most important source for German-language critical studies.

The dramatic, poetical and theoretical texts of Bertolt Brecht (1898 - 1956). In co-operation with the German publishers, Suhrkamp Verlag, this edition is based on Bertolt Brecht - Ausgewählte Werke in sechs Bänden - Jubiläumsausgabe zum 100. Geburtstag, edited by Werner Hecht, Wolfgang Jeske and Jan Knopf, which collects Brecht's works and writings in six volumes with brief notes on each text.

Online historical dictionary of the German language

The definitive, Weimar edition of the works of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832), originally published between the years 1887 and 1919. The edition is supplemented by 3 further volumes of letters discovered since completion of the Weimar edition, published in 1990 by DTV and edited by Paul Raabe, and by 10 volumes of Goethe's conversations, published by Woldemar Freiherr von Biedermann between the years 1889 and 1896.

The work of Franz Kafka (1883 - 1924) has been one of the defining influences that have shaped the literature of the twentieth century. Published in co-operation with S. Fischer Verlag, this is an electronic version of the critical edition of his complete works: Franz Kafka, Kritische Ausgabe, Schriften und Tagebücher, of which the first volume was published in 1982.

Largest database of critical literature; includes some German-language material, but also the largest corpus of English-language studies

Provides complete online access to the editions, interpretations and reference works on one of the most important philosophers. In addition to the authoritative editions of the works (KGW) and the letters (KGB), Nietzsche Online contains all De Gruyter publications on Nietzsche; furthermore, the database also includes contributions of the journal New Nietzsche Studies.

Schillers Werke is the electronic edition of the Nationalausgabe of Schiller's works. The Nationalausgabe was established in 1940 as the definitive edition of his works, letters and conversations. The edition comprises fifty-six volumes.

34-volume set that lists writers alphabetically; with references to secondary literature. Some are quite extensive. An essential tool.

Quarterly index of books, articles and dissertations, organized by chronological time period. Books usually have a short review. Annual name and subject indexes.

22-volumes, with a 6-volume supplement. Similar to the Quellenlexikon (above). Includes, in addition to writers, Germanisten, philosophers, theologians. Articles include short biography, primary literature, and secondary literature. Also information on archives and literary institutions. Very complete, up to its publication date, and includes many older citations that don't show up elsewhere.

Very useful introduction to recent secondary literature.

Guide to using the correct citation style