German Language and Literature
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- German Language and Literature
- Information on a WORK
Resources, both online and elsewhere, for the German language and literature.
Use all of these Strategies
 |
|
Find Books on Novels, Poems, etc.
- You can sometimes search for a title of a literary work as a SUBJECT.
- This really only works for well-known works.
- Example: "Goethe, Johann Wolfgang von, 1749-1832. Werther"
- You can always do an Any Field Key Word search on title words.
- This will pull up the book itself, but also works that discuss it.
- Example: "sebald austerlitz"
Find Articles on Literary Works
- The MLA International Bibliography is your best database.
- Titles of works are Subjects, or Descriptors, in this database.
- There are other databases you can try too. Use a title as your search.
Search these reference collections
- For many authors there will be a volume in Cambridge Companions. Or cross search the entire archive.
- Oxford Scholarship Online is another cross-searchable database.
- LION has good basic information on writers.
- The e-texts portion of LION is English-language works.
- But the criticism and reference components treat writers of many nationalities.
- Gale Artemis Literary Sources also has good basic information on writers.
- It will give overviews of works and critical articles on writers.
- Search the library catalog for handbooks (sometimes called an Encyclopedia, or Dictionary).
- Another possibility is the MLA series "Approaches to teaching".
- Though not exclusively literary, the Deutsche Biographie offers thousands of articles on German-speaking authors, from the Middle Ages to the present.