Italian Language and Literature
Resources, in all formats, for the study of Italian literature and language
Find Books in the JHU Libraries
|Start your Research with Books in the MSE Library|
- You can limit your search by Language, Location, Date of publication, etc. Use the limits on the left side of the screen.
- You can use any of the above words, and any other words or names that describe your project, in a "All Fields" search as well. For best results, do a Subject search, or a Title search.
- Try the Subject searches below.
Background and Reference
Find All the Books on a Subject
Go beyond Hopkins
Use the databases below to find books and other materials not found at Hopkins. Request directly online.
- WorldCatSearch all US and many European research libraries
- BorrowDirectSearch and request books from the libraries of the Ivy League universities plus University of Chicago, MIT, Duke, and Stanford. Expect delivery in 3-5 days.
Databases and Online Resources
Journal Articles and Web Resources
While the MLA International Bibliography is an essential resource to use, there are many other databases that index articles, book chapters, and other scholarship on Italian literature and other humanities disciplines.
- The complete list of library-licensed resourcesother indexes, e-text archives, encyclopedias, dictionaries and e-journals
- Google Booksnow has the complete page images from thousands of books, most of them "old". Use the Advanced Search for more precision. Try searching on a phrase from the book you're looking for. Or keywords that will easily identify it.
- Biblioteca Italianaa digital library of texts from the Middle Ages to the 20th century.
- Liber Liberfree online texts, mostly Italian
Articles from Google Scholar
Dante Web Sites
- Digital Dantefrom Columbia University, another multi-media Web site.
- Princeton Dante Projecttext of the Commedia, a translation, audio reading, texts of minor works, links to historical and literary material, images, ...
- Dartmouth Dante Projecta searchable database of the Commedia and over 70 commentaries.
- Dante Studiesa rich Web site. Use the various drop-down menus to navigate.
- The ORBOnline Reference Book for Medieval Studies. Lots of resources on the Middle Ages. Good page of Dante links.
- Italian GrammarLinks to many dictionaries and other language tools
|Explore Special Collections holdings in Dante manuscripts, early printed editions, and related rare material.|