Italian Language and Literature
Resources, in all formats, for the study of Italian literature and language
Tools of Literary Research in Italian
- Primary Literature: a guideLocate, identify, get access to, find obscure titles, authors, documents. Find what books were available at a given time, identify the literary and bibliographic context of a writer or subject.
- Secondary Literature: a guidefind critical studies on an author, work, or topic. Discover essential online resources as well as crucial print resources that are NOT online
- BIGLLI: Bibliografia generale della lingua e della letteratura italianaArticles and book studies in Italian literature. Fills in the gaps of the MLA, which is heavily slanted toward English-language sources
- LIAB: Letteratura italiana, aggiornamento bibliograficoCovers materials published 1991-present but including all time periods of Italian literature, including books, articles, and reviews. Organized by time period, with several indexes, A necessary complement to the databases.
- MLA International BibliographyLargest database of critical literature; includes some German-language material, but also the largest corpus of English-language studies
- Biblioteca Italiana Zanichelli (BIZ)Collection of over 600 works of Italian literature, from its origins to the end of the 1930’s. Includes complete works of the major Italian writers, as well as those of many minor and obscure writers as well, in PDF format. A Web-based version of the CD-ROM “LIZ” (Letteratura Italiana Zanichelli).
- Tesoro della Lingua Italiana delle OriginiIl primo dizionario storico dell’italiano antico che nasce direttamente in rete.
- Letteratura italianaA very important, large set on Italian literature, in 8 parts: I maggiori (2 vol.), I minori (4 vol.), Le corrente (2 vol.), I contemporanei (6 vol.), I critici (5 vol.), Novecento (10 vol.), Novecent le avantguardie lettarie (3 vol.). Individual articles on writers, with a Bibliografia at the end of each. Many lesser-known writers are included, as well as the big names. Volume 5 is particularly useful: it is a Repertorio biliografico of writers not included in the set. Obscure writers not found elsewhere, as well as good background and bibliographies on major writers and movements.
|Add these to your toolbox|
- Using Periodicals in Researchhow to find articles in 17th, 18th, 19th, 20th century journals
- Useful Keywords to use in searchingthese are part of the standard vocabulary of catalogs. Use them to find genres or categories of books : indexes, correspondence, bibliographies, biographies., etc.
- EnciclomediaSeicento, Settecento, Ottocento. Guida multimediale alla storia della civiltà europea.
- The Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism
- New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
- Cambridge History of Literary Criticism
- The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
- Literary Theory
- The Johns Hopkins guide to literary theory and criticism. General Reference PN 81 .J554 1994
- Theory after theory : an intellectual history of literary theory from 1950 to the early 21st century. D-level Blue Labels PN 94 .B57 2010
- Encyclopedia of literary critics and criticism. General Reference PN 75.E53 E53 1999
- A glossary of contemporary literary theory. General Reference PN 44.5.H37 2000
- Literary theory : the basics. D-level Blue Labels PN 94.B47 2008
- Literary theory : an introduction (new edition) by Terry Eagleton. D-level Blue Labels PN 94.E2 2008
- Literary theory : a practical introduction. D-level Blue Labels PN 45.R93 2007
Literature--History and Criticism--Theory