Italian Language and Literature
Resources, in all formats, for the study of Italian literature and language
Find All the Books on a Subject
Go beyond Hopkins
Use the databases below to find books and other materials not found at Hopkins. Request directly online.
- WorldCatSearch all US and many European research libraries
- BorrowDirectSearch and request books from the libraries of the Ivy League universities plus University of Chicago, MIT, Duke, and Stanford. Expect delivery in 3-5 days.
Tools for Grad Students and Faculty
These documents are absolutely essential for grad students; faculty too.
Nearly complete lists of the most importand and valuable resources for scholarly research in literature.
- Secondary Literaturean almost complete list of resources for finding critical studies on Italian literature
- Primary Literaturean almost complete guide to resources for identifying and locating manuscripts, books, and other primary sources.
Bibliografia Generale della Lingua e della Letteratura Italiana
- Absolutely essential resource for Italian-language scholarship. Many resources not in any database.
- A Level Reference: PC 1073.B53 (1991-present) for print volumes (good for browsing).
- BIGLLI online covers 1991 to present.
Databases and Online Resources
Journal Articles and Web Resources
While the MLA International Bibliography is an essential resource to use, there are many other databases that index articles, book chapters, and other scholarship on Italian literature and other humanities disciplines.
- The complete list of library-licensed resourcesother indexes, e-text archives, encyclopedias, dictionaries and e-journals
- Google Booksnow has the complete page images from thousands of books, most of them "old". Use the Advanced Search for more precision. Try searching on a phrase from the book you're looking for. Or keywords that will easily identify it.
- Biblioteca Italianaa digital library of texts from the Middle Ages to the 20th century.
- Liber Liberfree online texts, mostly Italian
Browse to the Max
|Browsing the library shelves is an age-old and still crucial research strategy.
Exploit its power by using the Library of Congress call number system to its maximum potential.
- Overall call numbers in the library
- P call numbers
- Click on the PQ in the link above to see a detailed breakdown of call numbers in Italian literature