Spanish Language and Literature
Resources, both online and elsewhere, for the Spanish language and literature, including Latin American.
Use all of these Strategies
Find Books on Authors
- You can search for a writer as a SUBJECT.
- The format is: last name, first name, birth date-death date.
- Ex.: Borges, Jorge Luis, 1899-1986
- There will be many subheadings under an author's name.
- The most useful is "Criticism and interpretation".
- For well-known works, one of the subheadings under an author's name will be the title of a work.
Find Articles on Authors
- The MLA International Bibliography is your best database.
- Authors' names are Subjects, or Descriptors, in this database.
- The MLA International Bibliography is particular about how you enter the name though.
- Last name, first name is best. Otherwise you may retrieve nothing.
- You can also put last name in one box and 1st name in another.
- There are other databases you can try too. Use an author's name as your search.
Search these reference collections
- For many authors there will be a volume in Cambridge Companions. Or cross search the entire archive.
- Oxford Scholarship Online is another cross-searchable database.
- LION has good basic information on writers.
- The e-texts portion of LION is English-language works.
- But the criticism and reference components treat writers of many nationalities.
- Artemis Literary Sources also has good basic information on writers.
- It will give overviews of works and critical articles on writers.
- Search the library catalog for handbooks (sometimes called an Encyclopedia, or Dictionary).
- Another possibility is the MLA series "Approaches to teaching".
- There are many good Web sites on individual authors.
- A Google search should bring them up. Ex. Lope de Vega
- Typically, they have good bibliographies of primary, and sometimes secondary, works.
- They also have biographical information.
- Wikipedia usually has good introductory articles on writers, often with good references and links.