Spanish Language and Literature
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Spanish Language and Literature
- Essential Tools
Resources, both online and elsewhere, for the Spanish language and literature, including Latin American.
Tools of Literary Research in Spanish
 |
Essential Tools
|
- Spanish Primary Literature GuideLocate, identify, get access to, find obscure titles, authors, documents. Find what books were available at a given time, identify the literary and bibliographic context of a writer or subject.
- Spanish Secondary Literature Guidefind critical studies on an author, work, or topic. Discover essential online resources as well as crucial print resources that are NOT online
- Bibliografía de la Literatura EspañolaLa base de datos Bibliografía de la Literatura Española es la más completa y única bibliografía sobre la Literatura Española actual.
- MLA International BibliographyLargest database of critical literature; includes some French-language material, but also the largest corpus of English-language studies
- Teatro español del siglo de oro : baso de datos de texto completoContains the full text of approximately 900 Spanish dramatic works from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
- Latin American Women WritersComprises 100,000 pages of literary works, along with memoirs and essays, in their original language, by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present (description from database).
Indexes in Print
While online databases are wonderful for finding more recent articles, most older material, and much of the specialized material from European journals, will be only indexed in print indexes.
- Bibliografía de la literatura hispánica. J. Simon DiazIndispensable bibliography for Spanish literature. Still a work in progress, but at 16 volumes to date an essential resource for general literature, the Middle Ages, and Golden Age. Includes Castilian, Catalan, Galician, Basque, and Spanish American.
- Manual del librero hispano-americanobibliografía general española e hispano-americana desde la invención de la imprenta hasta nuestros tiempos, con el valor comercial de los impresos. 28 volumes, with a 7-volume index. Alphabetical by author's name. Complete bibliographical information on 381,897 Spanish books from 1450 to 1950.
- Manual de literatura españolaA multi-volume, thorough history (or manual) of Spanish literature, with extensive "Bibliografía citada" at the end of each section. Detailed information on authors and literary movements. Use the detailed "Contenido" at the back of each
volume for orientation. - The year's work in modern language studiesVery useful introduction to recent secondary literature.
- Romanische BibliographieAnnual publication in Romance languages and literature, with a large section on Spanish literature, arranged by time period, and then by author. Includes a lot of non-English sources, and Catalan and Galician literature. A resource not to be overlooked.
Research Guides
 |
Add these to your toolbox |
- Using Periodicals in Researchhow to find articles in 17th, 18th, 19th, 20th century journals
- MLA Handbook Plusexamples, guide to using the correct citation style
- Useful Keywords to use in searchingthese are part of the standard vocabulary of catalogs. Use them to find genres or categories of books : indexes, correspondence, bibliographies, biographies., etc.
Literary Theory
Online resources:
- The Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism
- New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
- Cambridge History of Literary Criticism
- The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
- Literary Theory
Selected Books:
- Theory after theory : an intellectual history of literary theory from 1950 to the early 21st century.
- Encyclopedia of literary critics and criticism.
- Literary theory : the basics.
- Literary theory : an introduction (new edition) by Terry Eagleton.
Find More:
Literature--History and Criticism--Theory