Data and Statistics
Finding and accessing data and statistics across a range of disciplines.
Finding COVID-19 Datasets
COVID-19 Data
For a comprehensive listing of COVID-19 datasets, please visit the COVID-19 section of the Finding Datasets for Secondary Analysis Welch Medical Library guide.
COVID-19 Statistics
For a comprehensive listing of COVID-19 statistics, please visit the COVID-19 section of the Finding Health Statistics Welch Medical Library guide.
Additional Resources
Below are some highlighted resources, as well as resources for accessing JHU specific COVID-19 patient data.
Open-Access Data
- Open-Access Data and Computational Resources to Address COVID-19The NIH Office of Data Science Strategy maintains a list of COVID-19 open-access data and computational resources being provided by federal agencies, including NIH, public consortia, and private entities. These resources are freely available to researchers, and the page is routinely updated as more resources become available.
- COVID-19 Case Surveillance Public Use DataThe CDC provides the public with COVID-19 case surveillance data in a 12 data element public use dataset of the line-listed dataset of all COVID-19 cases shared with CDC.
- ICPSR COVID-19 Data RepositoryThe COVID-19 Data Repository is a repository for data examining the social, behavioral, public health, and economic impact of the novel coronavirus global pandemic. Deposits include all data, annotated program code, command files, and documentation necessary to understand the data collection and/or replicate research findings.
- COVID-19 Dashboard DataThis is the data repository for the 2019 Novel Coronavirus Visual Dashboard operated by the Johns Hopkins University Center for Systems Science and Engineering (JHU CSSE).
Restricted-Access Data
- COVID-19 Case Surveillance Public Use DataThe CDC provides a 32 data element restricted-access version of the 12 data element public COVID-19 dataset.
- NCATS National COVID Cohort Collaborative (N3C)One of the largest collections of clinical data related to COVID-19 symptoms and patient outcomes in the United States. It also includes a powerful analytics platform and tool set for online discovery, visualization and collaboration. To apply for access to the N3C data, researchers will need to complete a number of steps.
COVID-19 Research Data at Johns Hopkins
Access to COVID-19 related patient data at Johns Hopkins University is moderated through the Johns Hopkins Institute for Clinical and Translational Research (ICTR). To access COVID-19 data at Johns Hopkins you will need to reach out to the appropriate ICTR program. Relevant ICTR programs involved with COVID-19 data, and the associated data purview, are listed below.
| ICTR Program | Program Description | Resource Category |
|---|---|---|
| COVID-19 and Data Research Evaluation (CADRE) Committee | CADRE moderates access to JHU specific COVID-19 data. Investigators needing access to institutional data for Hopkins patients to conduct COVID-19 research must either come to a convened CADRE Review meeting or request a CADRE Review waiver. CADRE Review approval, or a waiver, is a required component of the IRB application. | Data Access |
| Core for Clinical Research Data Acquisition (CCDA) | The Core for Clinical Research Data Acquisition (CCDA) assists researchers with accessing clinical data for research purposes. The CCDA is staffed with experienced data analysts who will assist you with access to data while also helping you comply with Data Trust privacy and security regulations. | Data Access |
| Precision Medicine Analytics Platform (PMAP) | The PMAP platform pulls data from the Epic Medical Record and other data sources into a Data Commons, where the data are integrated together and available in a format that is operable by sophisticated machine learning and natural language processing technologies. With IRB approval, data from the PMAP Data Commons can be provisioned into a secure Research Environment for analysis by study teams and data scientists using tools like the Jupyter notebook and PMAP-developed cohort discovery tools. | Data Access and Analysis |
| DataTrust | Research use of data from most Johns Hopkins Medicine (SOM, JHHS) health and business databases and sources, including the sharing of data with external collaborators or databases, may require review and approval by the JHM Data Trust Council. For more details see: https://guides.library.jhu.edu/protecting_identifiers/datatrust | Data Privacy and Security |
| COVID-19 Clinical Research Center | The COVID-19 Clinical Research Center offers planning resources for investigators conducting COVID-19 research involving participant interaction, data, and stored specimens. The center also provides information about IRB approved COVID-19 research studies, links to relevant resources, and contact people to whom you can reach out for help at each stage of research. | Data Collection |