Data and Statistics
Ask Me
Data Requests via the Data Fund
The Data Fund provides JHU researchers the opportunity to make requests for known datasets that are not readily accessible via the library data subscriptions. Each year, the library is able to provide a small amount of funding to a select number of researchers to facilitate their use of secondary data.
If you have a specific need for secondary proprietary data without security or access restrictions that cannot be obtained by other means please submit a request using the form below for consideration.
Data Fund Purchase Request Form
Please note that submission of the form is not a guarantee of funding. Applicants will receive communication from the data and statistics consultant who will work with the researcher and the academic liaisons within the researcher's discipline to discuss the next steps for the potential use of Data Fund resources to gain access to secondary data. (Undergraduate researchers must have the endorsement of a faculty member to apply. While funds may be made available for undergraduate research projects in special circumstances, the fund's primary mission is to fund data for faculty and graduate student research.)
Economics
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner. BEA is an agency of the Department of Commerce. Along with the Census Bureau and STAT-USA, BEA is part of the Department's Economics and Statistics Administration. Interaction with the data is possible for most of the data collections (tables, charts, graphs, and maps) and download of data is also often possible as either a CSV or Excel file.
Current Population Surveys (CPS)
The CPS is the primary source of information on the labor force characteristics of the U.S. population. Estimates obtained from the CPS include employment, unemployment, earnings, hours of work, and other indicators. They are available by a variety of demographic characteristics including age, sex, race, marital status, and educational attainment. They are also available by occupation, industry, and class of worker. You can download the datasets you want to work with via FTP (see NBER collection below to see if sample programming code is available) or you may opt to use Data Ferrett.
Economic Census (U.S.)
The U.S. Economic Census is conducted every five years. The most current data right now is for 2012. All of the data is accessible via American FactFinder. Data from the 2002 and 2007 census is also available in PDF and HTML formats.
EIU Country Data and City Data
The City Data collection covers cost-of-living prices of products and services in cities worldwide. Performs data analysis and converts currency. The Country Data collection contains annual, quarterly and monthly economic indicators and forecasts, covering more than 320 economic series for 150 countries, as well as 45 regional aggregates, running from 1980 and forecasting out five years. When you click on the link above, scroll down the page to locate both collections - you access each separately.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Members of the bureau are top scholars in their field. The NBER data page is a great resource for those who wish to find useful economic datasets for download.
FRED - Federal Reserve Economic Data
FRED is a database of 20,070 U.S. economic time series data. With FRED you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series. Data series are organized into categories such as banking, business/fiscal, exchange rates, foreign exchange intervention, GDP and interest rates. You can also access "vintage" data through ALFRED - ArchivaL Federal Reserve Data.
Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb
U.S. import statistics, U.S. export statistics, U.S. tariffs, U.S. future tariffs and U.S. tariff preference information are available on a self-service, interactive basis. The USITC DataWeb responds to user-defined queries integrating international trade statistics with complex tariff and customs treatment, and allows both expert and non-expert users to create and save customized country and product lists for future re-use from anywhere in the world.
IMF eLibrary Data
IMF Data provides a powerful new tool to access authoritative, harmonized global statistical databases, including Balance of Payments (BOP), Direction of Trade (DOT), Government Finance Statistics (GFS) and International Financial Statistics (IFS). Note that we do have IMF BOP DOT and GFS browsers installed on machine #1 on A-level in GIS and Data Services.
Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID)
The Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID), begun in 1968, is a longitudinal study of a representative sample of U.S. individuals (men, women, and children) and the family units in which they reside. It emphasizes the dynamic aspects of economic and demographic behavior, but its content is broad, including sociological and psychological measures.
Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP)
The main objective of SIPP is to provide accurate and comprehensive information about the income and program participation of individuals and households in the United States, and about the principal determinants of income and program participation. SIPP offers detailed information on cash and noncash income on a subannual basis. The survey also collects data on taxes, assets, liabilities, and participation in government transfer programs. SIPP data allow the government to evaluate the effectiveness of federal, state, and local programs.
TradeStats Express
Access current national and international trade statistics from data collected by the Foreign Trade Division of the U.S. Census Bureau. This resource is made available from the Office of Trade and Industry Information (OTII), Manufacturing and Services, International Trade Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce.
World Development Indicators
WDI provides an expanded view of the world economy for 148 countries with chapters focusing on world view, people, environment, economy, states and markets, and global links as well as introductions highlighting recent research on major development issues.