Data and Statistics
How To Access ICPSR
1. Open ICPSR using the JHU database proxy link.
2. The ICPSR MyData account is your portal to accessing ICPSR data! To create an ICPSR MyData account:
- Click on the Log In button.
- Click on the Create Account button.
- Fill out all of the required Create a New Account fields and press Submit.
3. Login to your MyData account. Once you have your account, you'll want to make sure you log in to the site before searching.
4. Search for Data. To do this, make sure you are at the Find & Analyze Data portion of the site. You can search by keyword or by dataset title (if you know it), or use the links to search by topic or by series (for well-known longitudinal studies this is helpful).
5. Browse the Documentation. Before you download data, browse the codebook (and the User Guide if available) to make sure that the variables you need for analysis are present in the data, and that the sample is appropriate.
6. Download the Data. Download the data in the desired format. Most datasets are available in SPSS, SAS and Stata. If you would like to work with the programming code, you can choose to download the ASCII file and the appropriate programming code (again, usually available for SPSS, SAS and Stata).
7. Use the Data. If you need assistance accessing or using ICPSR data, please reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org.
ICPSR and its archives
The main ICPSR data archive contains records for all datasets in the collection, but sometimes it is easier to start with a narrower subset. ICPSR has several well-known thematic archives such as the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD), the Minority Data Resource Center (MDRC), the National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA), and the Terrorism & Preparedness Data Resource Center (TPDRC). Click on the link above to view the entire list of thematic collections.