The cupboard near the ILL books contains extra foam wedges and book snakes.

The books in the fancy cases are accessible to researchers. The first case contains University yearbooks and is unlocked. The lower cases contain old University Circulars and are also unlocked.  The yearbooks and Circulars are meant to be browseable.

The rest of the cases are locked, so a staff member will need to open the grilles.  The books are primarily the Machen Collections (the books were given to the library ages ago) but there are a few from the Hinkes Collection as well.   These books have the "Special Collections-Brody Learning Commons" location in their catalog records.

The books are mostly incunabula (books printed between 1450 & 1500), though there are also some lovely 19th century and early 20th century editions as well.  If you would like to see something in the grilles, let us know!

There are normally oodles of book trucks in the Reading Room.  The book trucks are labeled with the researcher's name.  Occasionally, a researcher may have  requested a large number of books and/or archives boxes, so not all of their research materials will be in the Reading Room.  If a researcher requested a particular book or collcetion and you do not see it in the Reading Room, it's most likely in the workroom.  Staff can help you find it.

There is also a reshelve truck creatively labeled "Reshelve Truck" where researchers can place books they no longer need. The books will then be reshelved.

The bookcase close to the glass wall is wear we keep Special Collections books on hold for patrons.  Books are normally shelved alphabetically by patron last name.

The small antechamber that leads to the workroom contains shelving for boxed material.  Remember that researchers can only use one box at a time, one folder at a time.