English and American Literature
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- English and American Literature
- Writing about a Film: “The Tragedy of Macbeth”
Marketing & Production
The teaser poster was designed by the artist Edel Rodriguez. A copy of the poster recently sold at auction for $120.00. Find out more about the artist at: https://www.instagram.com/edelrodriguez/
- A24 WebpageThe official webpage for The Tragedy of Macbeth
- Joel Coen's ScriptCoen's script for The Tragedy of Macbeth is available to read online!
- Interview with Joel Coen & His Production TeamAn interview from Little White Lies, a magazine dedicated to "championing great movies and the talented people who make them."
Hashtags & Google Trends
Here are some hashtags you may wish to explore:
- #TheTragedyofMacbeth
- #TragedyofMacbeth
- #AppleTV
- Individual names of cast and crew
Google Trends can also help you map the popularity of search terms. Here is the mapping for The Tragedy of Macbeth.
Suggested Databases
- Access World NewsAccess World News includes blogs, newspapers, and videos on current topics from around the world.
- Film & Television Index with Full TextSubject matter includes all aspects of film production, theory, and criticism.
- International News StreamThis database provides access to newspapers outside of North America. It is a great resource to obtain a more global view of a topic. Plus, many of the articles can be instantly translated into English and other languages.
- Performing Arts IndexPerforming Arts Index provides access to both trade and academic journals that cover all aspects of the performing arts, including film. Content includes current issues of The New Yorker and Rolling Stone, both known for their popular film criticism.
- Press ReaderPress Reader provides access to newspapers and magazines from around the world. They look just as they appear in print!
The databases may require that you login with your JHED username and password. You will be able to access the databases anywhere in the world as long as you have an internet connection.
Online Forums
Online movie forums provide access to conversations surrounding film, ranging from popular discussion to intense debate. Many can be searched and viewed without creating an account. Here are a few places you may want to explore if you are interested in how people are chatting about The Tragedy of Macbeth (note: all reddit subthreads have a search feature):
- r/TrueFilm: A niche subreddit featuring threads on "cinema" over "popular movies." There are several threads on The Tragedy of Macbeth.
- r/movies: A popular subreddit meant to be an inclusive forum to discuss all aspects and all kinds of movies. Great for finding discussions on movie trailer releases and awards talk.
- r/A24: A fan community for A24, the movie studio that co-distributed the film with Apple. Contains fan art, memes, and discussion.
- Criterion Forum: This forum is for fans of the Criterion Collection. Criterion helps to restore and promote important and essential films from around the world. Here is the link to the thread on The Tragedy of Macbeth; the thread started on March 28, 2019.
- Letterboxd: A fan community for the discussion of film. Comments range from a simple "I like it!" to in-depth commentary.
Citing Social Media
Pro-Tip: Screen capture any social media example you intend to use for your research in case the post, thread, or parent account is deleted.
How do you cite content from social media sites? It will depend on the citation style you use (for instance, APA or MLA), but the following elements are needed:
- Author (the official account name)
- Date (date the social media post was published)
- Title & Necessary Descriptors (the first sentence of the post, including hashtags and emojis; info if a video or other media is attached)
- Source (the social platform AND the URL)
APA Example:
A24 [@A24]. (2021, Oct 24). Whence is that knocking? 🏰 #TheTragedyofMacbeth [Video attached] [Tweet]. Twitter. https://twitter.com/a24/status/1449736966027632645
Chicago Example:
A24 (@A24). 2021. "Whence is that knocking?" Twitter, October 24, 2021, 10am. https://twitter.com/a24/status/1449736966027632645.
MLA Example:
@A24. "Whence is that knocking?" Emoji of castle. #TheTragedyofMacbeth [Video of movie trailer for Macbeth attached to tweet] ." Twitter, 24 Oct. 2021, 10 a.m., https://twitter.com/a24/status/1449736966027632645.
Clear as mud, right? Fortunately, we have a citation guide that will direct you to trusted online citation resources.
Social Media Research Methods
- Advanced SearchLook for the "advanced" search page features such as this one for Twitter to help limit or expand your social media search results.
- Sage Research MethodsSage Research Methods offers case studies and guidance for conducting research, including the discovery and analysis of social media content.
Film Release
The Tragedy of Macbeth was released first in the cinema and then streamed exclusively through Apple. You may want to consider why the release of the movie privileged the in-person experience over streaming, and how the choice of a streaming service may impact access to the film.