English and American Literature
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- English and American Literature
- Seeing and Believing
Discover resources and research tools in English and American Literature
The Library Catalog
The library catalog is a powerful database, helping you to find research published in all forms of media, from streaming resources to books in print.
It can be a bit cumbersome to use, so try to use filters if you are having too many weird results. You can filter by things like language, date range, media type.
Finding Resources on the Performing Arts
- The Performing Arts DatabasePerforming Arts Index provides access to both trade and academic journals that cover all aspects of the performing arts, including film.
- The New Yorker Digital ArchiveThe entire run of the New Yorker, in full text and full color, from 1925-present. Great for coverage of the arts!
- The Rolling Stone ArchiveThe backfile of Rolling Stone, from its launch in 1967 to the present. One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, it initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture.
- Film and Television Literature with Full-TextA comprehensive index covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing and produced for a broad target audience, from film scholars to general viewers. Subject coverage includes: film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Press ReaderPress Reader provides access to newspapers and magazines from around the world. They look just as they appear in print!
- International News StreamThis database provides access to newspapers outside of North America. It is a great resource to obtain a more global view of a topic. Plus, many of the articles can be instantly translated into English and other languages.
Online Forums & Popular Journals
Online movie forums provide access to conversations surrounding film, ranging from popular discussion to intense debate. Many can be searched and viewed without creating an account. Here are a few places you may want to explore if you are interested in how people are chatting about The Tragedy of Macbeth (note: all reddit subthreads have a search feature):
- r/TrueFilm: A niche subreddit featuring threads on "cinema" over "popular movies."
- r/movies: A popular subreddit meant to be an inclusive forum to discuss all aspects and all kinds of movies. Great for finding discussions on movie trailer releases and awards talk.
- Letterboxd: A fan community for the discussion of film. Comments range from a simple "I like it!" to in-depth commentary.
- Bright Lights is an online journal featuring articles and reviews written by film scholars, enthusiasts, and journalists.
Advertisements
- Ad AccessPresents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
- Advertising AmericaThe documents in this collection allow us to explore how advertising works, company culture, how decisions are made and ultimately from this we can examine the effect that the industry may have had over wider culture and how culture interacts with advertising.
Flickering Images
