English and American Literature
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- English and American Literature
- Reintroduction to Writing
Album of Postcards in Special Collections
- Votes and PetticoatsThis album contains digital images of over 200 postcards from our Women's Suffrage Collection. Please note that we do not have the verso (back) of each postcard scanned.
MEOW
Votes for Women!
Postcards documenting the activism and public perception of the Women's Suffrage movement are fun and fascinating documents to explore. Finding information on them will require that you look at a variety of different types of sources, including journal articles, book chapters, and historic newspapers. Based on your postcard, you may need to explore diverse topics pertaining to women's suffrage political action or iconography such as hunger strikes, civic housekeeping, or animal symbolism. This guide will help you find what you need!
Finding Articles
- Academic Search UltimateYour one-stop shop for finding academic articles and material published in popular magazines.
- Project MuseContains academic articles and full-text chapters from scholarly books.
- JSTORJSTOR is similar to Project Muse, but has significantly more "older" articles and books.
These suggested databases are great places to start your research! A nice feature of these databases is the citation tool; the articles include information on how to properly cite the article in a variety of citation styles including Chicago and MLA.
Finding Books
- Beastly Possessions: Animals in Victorian Consumer CultureA good overview of the complicated symbolism of animals and gender in Victorian England. The book chapter "Sexy Beasts, Fallen Felines, and Pampered Pomeranians" is a must-read if you are interested in animals and women's suffrage postcards.
- American Women's Suffrage Postcards: A Study and a CatalogKenneth Florey wrote the very first study of women's suffrage postcards. You can also search and read portions of the book through Google Books. Florey has also written articles on the subject, so you may find it helpful to search his name in various library databases.
- Suffrage and the ArtsThis book is a great introduction to how suffrage organizations across Britain used art as part of their political campaigns. We several postcards in our collection created by the Suffrage Atelier League and other British-based suffrage organizations.
Search the library catalog for print and eBooks. Above are some great places to start!
Historic Newspapers
Historic newspapers are a terrific resource to understand the contemporary context of events depicted in women's suffrage postcards. Search the Historic Baltimore Sun database and see what happened when the suffragists marched in the September 1914 Industrial Parade!
