Scholarly Impact: citation analysis and alerts
Whether you are preparing for tenure review, or applying for a major grant, or trying to keep track of who is citing your work, contact me if you need assistance with citation analysis or setting up citation alerts.
Below are some of the most commonly used tools for citation analysis and tracking:
- Web of Science : Journal index coverage from 1900 to present; book index from 2005 to present.
- Scopus : Citation coverage limited to 1996 and onward.
- Google Scholar : Search Google Scholar or set up a Google Scholar account to track citations. For more accurate citation report based on Google results, you can try Harzing's Publish or Perish.
In addition to citation analysis, another tool for measuring scholarly impact is Journal Impact Factor. Below are most commonly used tools:
Current Content Alerts: new books and articles
Contact me if you need help set up email alerts of latest publications using the tools below.
New Book Alert
- New Books at Hopkins: (to come)
Journal Content Alert
Free registration allows you to keep up to date with newly published content from thousands of academic journals.
- Alerts via Databases (registration often required)
- EBSCO databases - click on "Publications" link from the toolbar. Browse for journal title and select.
- ProQuest databases - click "Publications" tab. Browse for journal title and select. Click "set up alert" or "create RSS feed".
- ISI's Web of Science - conduct a "publication name" search. Click on "Search History". Click "Save History/Create Alert" button and choose frequency of alert (options are weekly or monthly).
- Publisher-provided TOC alerts
Another option is to sign up for TOC alerts sent directly from publishers of journals.
The following databases allow you to set up alerts for new content based on your search terms.
Research on demand
Subject to my schedule and workload, I provide a limited Research on Demand serice to full time faculty in the departments of Anthropology, East Asian Studies, and Political Science. The service includes
- conducting bibliographical searches based on topics and subjects provided by the faculty,
- producing deliverable information in the form of bibliographies and/or pdf documents.
The preference is given to projects that are urgent, and have clearly defined, specific topics; and to faculty who is starting on a new research area, or those with limited experience using library databases. If I cannot accomodate your project, whether because my schedule does not permit or your project is deemed out of scope of this service, I will provide necessary assistance and training to ensure that you can conduct the research successfully on your own.
Please email me at firstname.lastname@example.org for an initial consultation.
Please contact me at email@example.com or 410-516-8930 any time you need assistance in any of the following areas:
- Library purchase recommendations: any research materials (books, films, journals, digital resources) that support your research and teaching.
- Library research training for your students: customized training sessions for your classes to help improve the quality of students' research work.
- Library support for your research: help find, locate, provide information sources that you need.
- Customized library orientation and training: for those who are new to Hopkins, or just need a quick brushup on library research skills, I can provide a customized training session based on your needs and interests.
- Troube shooting: help resolve any library related issues or problems.