East Asian Studies
Explore library resources for East Asia related research.
Subject Guide
Sources from China
China After 1949
图书-期刊-论文
- CNKI综合检索Homepage of CNKI. Can cross-search multiple CNKI databases. We subscribe to all content except for Proceedings, Yearbooks, and Patents and Standards.
- CNKI中国学术期刊全文数据库-China Academic Journal Full Text Online(CAJ)Full text database of Chinese academic journal articles.
- CNKI中国学术辑刊全文数据库-China Monographic Series Full Text OnlineIncludes Chinese Monographic Series published since 1979 regularly or irregularly by academic institutions in the PRC.. JHU has access to 4 groups (series) of monographs from CNKI. They are Literature/History/Philosophy, Politics/Military Affairs/Law, Education & Socials Sciences, and Economics & Management.
- CNKI中国学术论文全文数据库-China Theses and Dissertations Database (2000-)Our subscription contains full text theses and dissertations included in the following categories: Series F - Literature / History / Philosophy; Series G - Politics / Military Affairs / Law; Series H - Education / Social Sciences; Series J - Economics / Management.
- 读秀中文学术收索-DuxiuA full text search engine of 3 million Chinese books, articles, and more. JHU users have full access to 700,000 full text Chinese books published in mainland China from 1940s to present. For other titles, we can request for content 50 pages at a time. Please contact the librarian for details.
- Chinese Social Science Monographs (CSSM)A collection of 10K plus books published by Social Science Academic Press (社会科学文献出版社) dating back to 1987 with rich resources in economics, politics, history and society. Can search both CSSM and Pishu database together via Advanced Search.
报纸-文献-档案
- CNKI中国重要报纸全文数据库-China Core Newspaper Full Text Database (2000-)Includes national and provincial newspapers such as People's Daily, Guanming Daily, Jie fang jun Bao.
- CNKI中国政报公报期刊文献总库-China Government Gazettes Full Text OnlineIncludes a comprehensive collection of government gazettes, bulletins, announcements, and proclamations. It also contains national and local laws and regulations from Chinese government departments at all levels and is updated frequently. The coverage is mostly after 1994, with some titles dating back to the first issue.
- 北大法宝法律法规PKU Law: Laws & RegulationsPKU Law is a database of Chinese legal sources created and maintained by Chinalawinfo Co., Ltd., and the Legal Information Center of Peking University. The database contains both Chinese and English translations of laws & regulations, cases, tax treaties, and other legal sources. Please note that the JHU library only subscribes to the Chinese edition of Laws and Regulations.
- 皮书数据库Chinese Economy, Public Policy and Security Database: PishuIncludes up to date think tank and government reports from China on a wide range of social, economic, and political issues. Can search both CSSM and Pishu database together via Advanced Search
- 中国当代政治运动史数据库-Databases of the History of Contemporary Chinese Political MovementsIncludes primary source materials relating to the Chinese Anti-Rightist Campaign (1957–), the Chinese Cultural Revolution (1966-1976), the Great Leap Forward and the Great Famine (1958-1962), and the Political Campaigns in the 1950s from Land Reform to Public-Private Cooperation (1949-1956).
统计数据
- CNKI中国统计年鉴数据库-China Statistical Yearbooks DatabaseThe largest and continuously updated statistical yearbooks database in China, including all aspects and fields. Coverage is 1949-current.
- CNKI中国人口普查数据库National Population Census of China DatabaseIncludes census data from 2010, 2000, 1990, and 1982.
- EPS数据平台 (EPS China Data) (Chinese/English)EPS China Statistics presents series statistical databases on China, which are sourced from industrial, regional and national organizations, and covers various subjects, industries, fields and all regions of China.
数码文档
- 连环画 Chinese Pamphlets 1947-1954 (open access)Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954. These cartoon books, pamphlets, postcards and magazines, on topics such as foreign threats to Chinese security, Chinese relations with the Soviet Union, industrial and agricultural production, and marriage reform, were produced by both Kuomintang (Nationalist) and Gongchantang (Communist) supporters.
China Before 1949
报纸-杂志
- 上海图书馆近代图书近代期刊全文数据库-Full text Database of Late Qing and Republican Era Books and Magazines (1833-1949)Our current subscription covers late Qing and Republican era books and magazines, but not Newspapers and Contemporary Periodicals.
古籍-书库
- 內閣大庫檔案Grand Secretariat Archives[Click on 授权使用 to access]
[We also own 清宫内务府造办档案总汇 55 volumes (digital file; contact yye@jhu.edu for access info) , 清代军机处随手登记档 180 volumes(in print), 黑图档康熙朝 (56 volumes (in print). - 四库全书-Siku Quanshu OnlineNeeds to download the reader software on your computer first (link here).
数码文档
Hong Kong/Taiwan
- 华艺中文电子书 AiritisBooks (Taiwan)Selected titles are purchased for JHU users.
- Taiwan Electronic Periodicals ServiceIndex search of over 900 Taiwan academic journals, now offered through Airitis. Search is free but need to pay for full text.
- Taiwan Electronic BooksFree access to Taiwan e-books courtesy of National Central Library, Taiwan.
- Taiwan Theses and DissertationsOver 945,000 bid records with more than 358,000 authorized free access PDF as of March, 2016. Free login needed to download full text.
<>Available at Library of Congress
- Many Chinese language databases are available at Asian Reading Room, Library of Congress. Check Visitor Information before you go.
Sources from Japan
Library Subscriptions
- Japan Knowledge (JHU User Only)Contains a wide range of literary and popular culture primary sources and reference materials including Shogakukan daihyakka zensho and Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan.
- Japan Times Digital Archives 1897-2015 (JHU User Only)The oldest English-language newspaper in Japan by Japanese publishers, Japan Times maintained editorial independence for much of its history, though it was used by the government as a propaganda tool for Imperial Japan during World War II. The digital archive allows you to search the full text of all issues of The Japan Times published between March 1897 and 2014.
- Magazine Plus (JHU User Only)Includes all of the scholarly periodicals from NDL's Zassaku (1975-present), plus popular magazines (monthlies and weeklies including sports and hobbies) indexed in Jaanaru indekkesu from 1981-present, as well as 1300 Japanese economic and business magazines from 1981, and 60 overseas business magazines from 1984-present. Magazine Plus allows just one user to search at a time. Please Logout when you are finished.
- The Oriental Economist (JHU User Only)Includes full text archive of the English language magazine in Japan covering the years from 1934 to 1985.
- Yomidas Rekishikan (JHU User Only)Includes the full text of the Yomiuri Shinbun from its initial publication in 1874 to date, as well as full text of the Daily Yomiuri, its English language equivalent, and a biographical dictionary of modern Japanese figures. Articles are keyword indexed to 8/31/1986, and can be searched full-text from 9/1/1986 to present.
- Zasshi kiji sakuin (JHU User Only)The complete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from Meiji era to present.
Open Access Sources
- CiNiiCitation information for both articles and books. Books include holdings information for Japanese libraries.
- Gordon W. Prange Collection at University of MarylandIt is the most comprehensive archive in the world of Japanese print publications issued during the early years of the Occupation of Japan, 1945-1949.
- Full-text of 240,000 of 570,000 volumes held by the National Diet Library published in Japan between 1868 and 1945.
- Japan Center for Asian Historical Records アジア歴史資料センタ: (Japanese, Chinese, Korean and English)Historical records about modern Japan-Asia relations held by Japanese national institutions.
- Japan Statistical YearbookCovers all fields of statistics published by government and private institutions.
- Japanese Institutional Repositories OnlineOffers cross-sectional search among academic information accumulated in Japanese institutional repositories, such as journal articles, theses or dissertations, departmental bulletin papers, research papers, etc.
- Japanese Studies Subject Guide PortalA hub for Japan-related research and study guides sorted by academic discipline, courtesy of NCC (North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources).
Available at Library of Congress
- Many Japan Studies databases are available at Asian Reading Room, Library of Congress. Check Visitor Information before you go.
Sources from Koreas
Library Subscriptions
- NK News Pro (JHU Users Only)It is a suite of research resources and tools designed for professionals working on the subject of North Korea. It includes latest news on and from North Korea, specialist analysis and reports as well as proprietary research tools and databases.
- Korea Pro (JHU Users Only)Daily analysis and opinion on South Korea's foreign policy, politics and economy. Produced by the team behind NK News and NK PRO at Korea Risk Group.
Open Access Sources
- KOSIS 국가통계포털 (Korean statistical Information Service)The official government statistics information site for various national and international statistical information, including regional statistics, operated by Statistics Korea (통계청).
Available at Library of Congress
- Many Korea Studies databases are available at Asian Reading Room, Library of Congress. Check Visitor Information before you go.