Resources for studying business, management, economic, social, geographic, and political topics involving countries throughout the world.
- Digital South Asia LibraryIncludes digital versions of works on South Asia including: books, images, dictionaries, statistical works, maps, bibliographies and indexes to periodical literature.
- Oxford Reference Online Bilingual DictionariesOn the homepage of Oxford Reference Online, Click on "Reference Type" then "Bilingual Dictionaries."
- Index IslamicusIndexes materials on Islam, the Middle East, and the entire Muslim world from periodicals, monographs, and other collections in European languages. Includes coverage arts & humanities, history and social sciences topics.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerialsThis is an excellent tool to search for descriptions of the world's religions, analysis of religious thought and belief, and much more.
- Blackwell Reference OnlineBlackwell Reference Online includes electronic access to hundreds of reference works, including over a dozen on the world's religions.
- Cambridge Companions OnlineThe Complete Cambridge Companions is available as a complete collection and as two sub-collections comprising the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture. Each collection is updated with new Companions upon publication. In the Advanced Search screen, perform a Title search on your country, in combination with a Title search on Religion.
Art, Culture, and Daily Life
- eHRAFcross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life from all parts of the world. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups with corresponding full-text documents that are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Use it to find information on a particular culture or cultural trait or for making cross-cultural comparisons.
- UNESCO Institute for StatisticsTouted as the "First stop for education data from around the world," the UNESCO Institute for Statistics' Education section provides information about school enrollments, graduation rates, and statistics covering a wide range of issues from gender parity, teacher characteristics and financing. Explore other sections pertaining to Literacy, Communication, and Culture.
- Cambridge Companions OnlineThe Complete Cambridge Companions is available as a complete collection and as two sub-collections comprising the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture. Each collection is updated with new Companions upon publication. In the Advanced Search screen, perform a Title search on your country, in combination with a Title search on Culture.
- Polling the NationsA compilation of questions and responses from more than 12,000 national, state, local and special surveys, conducted by 700 polling organizations in the United States and 70 other countries from 1986 through the present. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)CIAO, from Columbia University Press, is a good resource for researching international political, economic, and cultural issues.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesThe on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.
- Handbook of Latin American StudiesThe Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
- Africa-Wide InformationCombines several literature databases to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. Included in this aggregation are 40 bibliographic databases from around the world.
- Arts & Humanities Citation IndexArts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
- International Index to Music PeriodicalsInternational Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) is an outstanding resource for music periodicals available on the web. It enables you to find articles on a comprehensive variety of subjects about music from a wide range of scholarship.
- International Index to Performing Arts Full TextInternational Index to the Performing Arts Full Text (IIPAFT) is a dynamic resource for the performing arts that provides indexing and abstracts for more than 210 international journals.
- World News ConnectionA valuable research tool for anyone who needs to monitor non-U.S. media sources. The material in WNC, which is no longer being updated, is provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Analysts from FBIS domestic and overseas bureaus monitor timely and pertinent open-source materials. Coverage is generally from 1995 to 2013. For earlier coverage, see Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1974 - 1996.