Resources for studying business, management, economic, social, geographic, and political topics involving countries throughout the world.
Education, Health, Living Conditions
- UNESCO Institute for StatisticsTouted as the "First stop for education data from around the world," the UNESCO Institute for Statistics' Education section provides information about school enrollments, graduation rates, and statistics covering a wide range of issues from gender parity, teacher characteristics and financing. Explore other sections pertaining to Literacy, Communication, and Culture.
- United Nations Economic and Social CouncilThe Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) serves as the central forum for discussing international economic and social issues, and for formulating policy recommendations addressed to Member States and the United Nations system.
- World Health Organization (WHO)The premier worldwide coordinator of improving, reporting on, and collecting data about the health status of countries and regions around the globe.
- CIA World FactbookThis widely used online resource provides descriptions of countries around the globe. It includes capsule assessments of geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. Country comparisons are tables ranking countries by a variety of parameters.
- Family & Society Studies WorldwideA core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Coverage spans a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.
Social and Political Information
- EIU Country ReportsCountry Reports provide in-depth analysis and forecasts for an individual country's economy and political situation. The service comprises a regular forecast report (monthly for most countries, quarterly for smaller economies) that provides a point-in-time outlook for issues such as economic growth, economic policy, inflation, exchange rates, political stability and effectiveness, elections and international relations. It also includes regularly published articles on events that may impact on our latest forecast and frequent analytical articles on important trends within a country. Update frequency: Continual
- Statesman's Yearbook OnlineProvides accurate and comprehensive information on the current, political, economic and social status of every country in the world. Online coverage from 1865 to present.
- International Political Science AbstractsInternational Political Science Abstracts (IPSA), is produced and published bimonthly by the International Political Science Association under the auspices of the International Social Science Council and with the support of Unesco, the Fondation Nationale des Sciences Politiques and The American University of Paris. It includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsCSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The database is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. Since 2000, development of the serials list has focused on expanding internat
- PAIS InternationalThe PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)CIAO, from Columbia University Press, is a good resource for researching international political, economic, and cultural issues.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research.