International Business
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- International Business
- Data Sources and Multi-Purpose Databases
Resources for studying business, management, economic, social, geographic, and political topics involving countries throughout the world.
Data and Statistics (Print Resources)
The GIS and Data librarians, on A-level, can assist you in obtaining statistics, economic indicators, demographic data and other information released by the U.S. government or the country.
Official publications of foreign countries will identify credible sources that the country provides.
Yearbooks, statistical abstracts, and compendia released by a country may be available in print, online or on microfilm. Consult with librarians to locate.
Try these print reference books to locate statistics and rankings, now available in online format:
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Also available in print.
Business Rankings Annual
(company and industry rankings)
current online in Gale Directory Library
Market Share Reporter
(company and industry rankings)
current online in Gale Directory Library
Statistics sources: a subject guide to data on industrial, business, social, educational, financial, and other topics for the United States and internationally
(online in Gale Directory Library)
Data Sources
- CountryData.comData for more than 150 countries, including risk ratings and economic data, as well as forecasts, economic, political, geographic, and social data from Political Risk Services. CountryData is updated monthly.
- Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) Teaching NotesGateway to current resources on foreign policy and international affairs. Menus lead to Backgrounders, guides and multimedia on thematic and regional topics.
- Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country DataEIU's database of annual, quarterly and monthly economic indicators and forecasts, covering more than 320 economic series for 150 countries, as well as 45 regional aggregates, running from 1980 and forecasting out five years.
- Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) ViewpointEconomist Intelligence Unit's country profiles, data, in-depth analysis, forecasts, and risk factors and assessments.
- FitchConnect (BMI Research)Links macroeconomic, industry, risk, and financial market analysis, to help users gain policy, economic, security, and business insights across 24 industries and 200 global markets. Includes a wide range of data elements, country-specific and industry-specific risk analyses, and BMI-developed reports on infrastructure, power, mining, and other key industry projects currently underway worldwide.
- Global EdgeThis Michigan State University-sponsored web resource contains country-specific data covering economic and trade indicators, business risk, selected industrial input and output measures, selected health indicators, etc.
- IMF eLibrary: DataIMF Data provides a powerful new tool to access authoritative, harmonized global statistical databases, including Balance of Payments (BOP), Direction of Trade (DOT), Government Finance Statistics (GFS) and International Financial Statistics (IFS).
- Knoema.comWebsite with some free access to a large amount of U.S. & Global economic, company, industry, demographic, and social data. Includes online charts, graphics, and much more. The website also offers a unsubscribed, corporate, paid version.
- Statista: The Statistics PortalCovers a wide range of statistics about countries, industries--business, health care, demographic, etc.
- World Bank Data BankThe World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is an expanding listing of available World Bank data sources. Click on Data Catalog in the menu bar below the Data heading to see the full catalog and the ways in which you can access the data. Please note that World Development Indicators is included here (direct link below for your convenience).
- World Development Indicators OnlineChoose desired economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and its partner agencies. The database covers 209 economies, with data back to 1965.
Multi-Purpose Databases
Consult these resources for various types of information pertaining to your country.
- Economist Intelligence Unit ViewpointEconomist Intelligence Unit's country profiles, data, in-depth analysis, forecasts, and risk factors and assessments.
- FitchConnect (BMI Research)Links macroeconomic, industry, risk, and financial market analysis, to help users gain policy, economic, security, and business insights across 24 industries and 200 global markets. Includes a wide range of data elements, country-specific and industry-specific risk analyses, and BMI-developed reports on infrastructure, power, mining, and other key industry projects currently underway worldwide.
- EurostatComprehensive statistical hub for European Union and candidate countries. Use the Statistics tab to view available stats by subject.
- OECD iLibraryOECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998. Click on Statistics link at the top to go directly to the Statistics section.
- Passport GMID (Euromonitor)Euromonitor International's database includes data and analysis on populations, markets, consumers, companies, and countries.
- World Bank E-LibraryWorld Bank E-Library's publications provide an expanded view of the world economy for 148 countries with chapters focusing on world view, people, environment, economy, states and markets, and global links as well as introductions highlighting recent research on major development issues.