Biomedical Engineering and Design
- Search Tips -- Save Your Time!
- Consumer Information
- Medical Textbooks Online
- Online Dictionaries
- Device-related Organizations
- Managing Your Citations
- Google Scholar
Save your time! Use these search techniques:
- Put quotation marks around PHRASES (two or more words), so that the words are searched together
--- Example: "machine learning"
- Put an asterisk at the end of words, so that you get all of the word endings
--- Example: high* = high, highs, higher, highest
- Start by putting your search words in the Title. If you get nothing, you can take them out of TITLE and move them to ANYWHERE.
- AccessMedicine - A collection of medical textbooks (e.g., Harrison's Internal Medicine), with overviews of diseases and conditions, lab tests, drug information, images, and more
--- Wheeless's Textbook of Orthopaedics (Duke University) is not included in this database, but is also a good source of information
Note: Always check a page's revision date to make sure that the information is not too old.
- AccessEngineering and ENGnetBASE (which is part of CRCnetBASE) - Collections of engineering textbooks, including several about device design
Note: Just use the search box on the top right.
Here are just a few of the public and private organizations for those involved in rehabilitation engineering:
Most databases allow you to EXPORT citations to a citation manager, such as RefWorks or EndNote.
It's usually simple -- however, some databases need a few extra steps.
PubMed -- Pubmed's way of exporting articles is complicated, so here is the easy way:
- Put the article title into Google Scholar
- Underneath the article's citation, click "Cite"
- At the bottom of that window are some citation managers, including RefWorks
- Do your search
- Check the citations you want to export
- From the top of the page, choose "Selected Records"
- Choose "Download"
- You can choose RefWorks, and they also offer MyPC, Mendeley, Google Drive, DropBox, and YourFolders
In all databases as well as Google Scholar, always use "Advanced Search."
- This will let you focus your search to get better results, as well as save you a lot of time
In all library databases plus Google Scholar, the FINDIT@JHU link will show you all of the ways that you can get an article.
- On a Hopkins computer, Google Scholar automatically shows you FIND IT@JHU links
- But on a non-Hopkins device (like your laptop), you should either
--- log in through the portal (my.jhu.edu), OR
--- go to the library home page , choose "Articles and Databases," and use the "Google Scholar" tab
If you do not see "FIND IT" next to the citation, look below the citation and click on the little arrow. Usually, the FINDIT link will magically appear.
To see links to our full-text articles:
Go through the library website this URL, which includes "jhum"):
Get to PubMed in any of three ways:
- On the MSEL home page: Articles and Databases --> Databases --> "Find a specific database by name" (the first box)
- Or, use the second box after "Databases," which is "Find a database by subject," such as "Medicine" or "Public Health"
- On the Welch library page, click on PubMed (on the left, under "Popular Resources")
Refine your searches, so that you get exactly what you want:
Use the choices on the left side of the page, including
- publication dates
- article types
Use "Show Additional Filters," also on the left of the page; these include
- languages (e.g., English)
- subjects (e.g., bioethics)
- ages (e.g., adult:19-44 years)
Phrases - Put phrases in quotation marks, so that the words stay next to each other ("chicken pox")
Truncate - Save your time! Put an asterisk - * - at the end of your search word (for example, transplant* will get you "transplant," "transplants," "transplanting," and "transplantation")
EMBASE is the world's other great database for biomedical topics. It includes articles, conference papers, and post-market surveillance reports, among other things.
- It has greater coverage in some areas than PubMed, especially in the areas of pharmacology and toxicology
- It has some specialized search features for medical devices, including "manufacturers," "comparisons," "economics,"
EMBASE also has content that PubMed does not have, so always search *both* databases.
Saving Searches -- To save your searches, you must register for a free username and password.
- During the registration process, you will be asked to enter an "institutional key," which is Johns Hopkins University
To do a search, click on "Search" on the blue line at the top of the page, and pull down "Advanced Search":
Now you can do a comprehensive search with the limits that you want:
- date -- the years during which articles were published
- sources -- either EMBASE or MEDLINE (the *published* articles from PubMed, not those in press)
- fields -- author, title, etc.; e.g., for articles with your search words in the article *Title*, add :ti to your search
- quick limits -- limits such as "humans," "only in English" and a few others
- EBM -- "evidence-based medicine"; choose "Cochrane review," "systematic review," "controlled clinical trial," "randomized trial," and/or "meta-analysis"
- pub types -- for example, review articles, editorials, and a few more choices
- languages -- choose from among lots of languages
- gender -- male, female, or articles about both men and women
- age -- choose from among given age ranges
- animal -- "animal cell," "animal experiment," "animal model," and/or "animal tissue"
Your searches can also use:
- AND -- Every article must include *all* search words (e.g., dog AND cat)
- OR -- Articles must include at least one of the search words (dog OR cat OR bird). The articles do not need to have all of these words in them.
- NOT -- You do not want articles with that search word(s) in it (e.g., dog NOT cat)
- NEAR/n – The words must be within some number of words of another word (e.g., e: symptom NEAR/5 headache gets articles with the word "symptom" within 1, 2, 3, or 4 words near "headache," no matter which comes first)
- NEXT/n – Same thing as above, except the order *does* matter (e.g., symptom NEXT/5 headache will get articles with the word "symptom" *before* the word "headache," with 1, 2, 3, or 4 words between them)
There are two ways to focus on finding device information:
- Do an advanced search and then use the left column to choose *Device,* and narrow it down from there
-- OR --
- Start with a "Device" search:
Device Fields includes
- device manufacturers
- device trade names
Device Subheadings includes
- adverse device effect
- device comparison
- device economics
- clinical trial
There are two ways to focus on finding drug information:
- SEARCH (word in the middle of the top of the page) --> Choose Advanced (word under the second blue line at the top of the page), then use the left column to choose *Drugs,* and narrow it down from there
- SEARCH --> Drug (word under second blue line at the top of the page)
Drug Fields includes
- drug manufacturers
- drug trade names
Drug Subheadings has 17 choices, including
- adverse drug effect
- drug analysis
- drug dose
Routes has many choices, including
Compendex (Engineering), Google Scholar, and More
Best Database for Engineering --> Compendex
- It is the biggest database for engineering, and for computer and IT topics
- Use its features to focus your search (remember to put PHRASES in quotation marks)
- Put some of your search words in the TITLE, and change the dates
- If you get too many results, refine the list by using the choices on the left
- All of the other Engineering databases are here, on "Databases by TOPIC"
More articles and other kinds of information:
- For finding for finding comparisons between treatments, use Cochrane Library and PEDro [Physiotherapy Evidence Database
- Remember that PubMed and EMBASE also have clinical trials, systematic reviews, clinical practice guidelines, and other publication types
To find other databases with articles about your topics:
The Welch Library subscribes to some specialized databases that require a username and/or password.
- If a medicine-related database asks you for a password, check this list.
UptoDate cannot be accessed through the JHU portal or VPN. It can only be accessed through
- a Hopkins computer, or
- a device using the Hopkins wireless network
Patents -- The patent literature can also supply information about companies. You can examine the patents assigned to a company, especially the recent patent applications, and perhaps gain insight into its plans for research and/or product development.