Biomedical Engineering and Design
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Biomedical Engineering and Design
- Anatomy Tools and Data
Anatomy Tools and Data
Anatomy Atlases (from the library catalog)
Anatomy TV (Primal Pictures) Interactive Anatomy
- provides more than 5,000 3D anatomical structures, clinical slides, dissections, animations, and more
- manipulate the images by rotating, zooming, and peeling away layers, while viewing accompanying text
- anatomy visuals are accompanied by 3D animations that demonstrate function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures
- FOR HELP - This HELP page will ask you which product you want help with, and then list tutorials
- The Welch Medical Library has tutorials about using this on their YouTube channel.
3D Anthropometric Data -- This is the interactive model repository at the University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute
- Dr. Matthew Reed (head of the Biosciences Group at the University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute) compiled a list of "all of the public anthropometry data, much of which derives from U.S. Military surveys and the National Health and Nutrition Survey (NHANES)"
- The list includes data for adults and children, including for small-female, midsize-male, and large-male pelvis geometry
Calculators (from UpToDate)
- This page will help you calculate body weights, Apgar scores, and other numbers need for emergency medicine, pediatrics, and more
- It's okay to "accept" the license that might pop up
- This database also includes information about medical devices -- for example, enter the words pressure sensor
PubMed and Embase
PubMed: To find lengths and dimensions of human bodies or parts, use this thesaurus ("MeSH") heading:
- into the main search box, paste "Body Weights and Measures"[Mesh] AND
- then add your search words after the AND
Embase: Use their thesaurus ("EMTREE"), which uses the term anthropometry
- that page will also give you synonyms that you can use to search, so that you get more results
- remember to put two or more words in quotation marks so that they're searched together
Reviews and Comparisons (from the Cochrane Library)
- This collection has full-text access to comparisons among treatments, and evidence about which are more effective
- Here is a quick reference sheet , including definitions of "review" and "protocol"
Anthropometric information is information "of or relating to the measurement of the human body." (Oxford English Dictionary)
3D Anthropometric Data -- This is the interactive model repository at the University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute
- Dr. Matthew Reed (head of the Biosciences Group at the University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute) compiled a list of "all of the public anthropometry data, much of which derives from U.S. Military surveys and the National Health and Nutrition Survey (NHANES)"
- The list includes data for adults and children, including for small-female, midsize-male, and large-male pelvis geometry
Embase: Use their thesaurus ("EMTREE"), which uses the term anthropometry
- that page will also give you synonyms that you can use to search, so that you get more results
- remember to put two or more words in quotation marks so that they're searched together
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) -- Biomechanical information; for example, how much weight or heat the human brain can bear).
PubMed: To find lengths and dimensions of human bodies or parts, use this thesaurus ("MeSH") heading:
- into the main search box, paste "Body Weights and Measures"[Mesh] AND
- then add your search words after the AND
DATA TO ADD (WHERE?)
(from Katy to Pete + SV)
- Decompressive Craniectomy and Cranioplasty procedures:
-
- Costs and length of stay
- # of procedures annually US
- # of procedures per Level 1 Trauma Center (US)
- Quantify cost of complication and infection for each
- How fast discharged for each (LOS) and see the range of times
- How much weight can the brain bear
- How much heat can the brain bear
- Cost of clinical trials for procedures comparable to brain implant in traumatic procedure
I’ve found a couple articles that may help find procedure codes from the Journal of Craniofacial Surgery, but it’s difficult because there are a lot within this category! Any data you may suggest would be so helpful.
Articles I’ve found so far:
National Database Research in Head and Neck Reconstructive Surgery: A Call for Increased Transparency and Reproducibility
Andrés M. Bur, Mark R. Villwock, Rohit Nallani, Ernest D. Gomez, Mark A. Varvares, Jennifer A. Villwock, Steven B. Cannady, and Mark K. Wax
Otolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery
First published July 7, 2020
&
Khetpal, Sumun MD; Phillips, Sarah BS; Parsaei, Yassmin DMD; Peck, Connor BS; Lopez, Joseph MD, MBA; Prsic, Adnan MD. The Opportunity Cost of Resident Involvement in Adult Craniofacial Surgery: An Analysis of Relative Value Units. Journal of Craniofacial Surgery 33(1):p 125-128, January/February 2022. | DOI: 10.1097/SCS.0000000000008104
-------------------------------
From Pete:
For the Decompressive Craniectomy and Cranioplasty procedures, The American College of Surgeons National Trauma Data Bank (NTDB) has data on craniectomy/cranioplasty performed at Level 1 Trauma Centers, including length of stay (has data on procedure data, and discharge data, so length of stay can be computed). Unfortunately cost is not part of the dataset, and there is an associated access fee for research: https://www.facs.org/quality-programs/trauma/quality/national-trauma-data-bank/
-----------------------
(couldn't find this info, from Pete:. Poor website.
American College of Surgeons National Trauma Data Bank (NTDB) -- Data on craniectomy/cranioplasty performed at Level 1 Trauma Centers, including length of stay (has data on procedure data, and discharge data, so length of stay can be computed). Unfortunately cost is not part of the dataset, and there is an associated access fee for research.
(this is mine) https://www.facs.org/quality-programs/trauma/quality/national-trauma-data-bank/datasets/ -- To access Trauma Quality Programs (TQP) research data, you must fill out a form and also pay.
For cost, they can try the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) data, as long as they know the ICD9/ICD10 codes for the decompressive craniectomy and cranioplasty procedures of interest: https://www.ahrq.gov/data/hcup/index.html
For biomechanical questions (how much weight can the brain bear, and how much heat) they can try the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration: https://www.nhtsa.gov/research/biomechanics#biomechanics-research
Katy: asked Stanley Singer if we have access to American College of Surgeons National Surgical Quality Improvement Program Study, since JHU is listed as a "participant"