The Sheridan Libraries

Biomedical Engineering and Design

Information specific to BME and BME/CBID design teams.

Article about Medical Device Security

A Brief Chronology of Medical Device Security is from "Communications of the ACM," volume 59(10), October 2016, pp. 66-72.

This article by Burns et al. reviews history and important legislation about medical devices. It is a review article, so also please note the  references at the end.

 

Background Information

Save your time! Use these search techniques:
  • Put quotation marks around PHRASES (two or more words), so that the words are searched together
    --- Example: "machine learning"
     
  • Put an asterisk at the end of words, so that you get all of the word endings
    --- Example: high* = high, highs, higher, highest
     
  • Start by putting your search words in the Title. If you get nothing, you can take them out of TITLE and move them to ANYWHERE.
MedlinePlus.gov
  • Clinical Trials.gov
    A clinical trial is a research study in human volunteers to answer specific health questions and to find treatments that work in people. This site explains how trials work, gives definitions of terms, and allows you to search for trials by medical condition, location of trial, eligibility, and more.
     
  • DynaMedex
    Patient information is included in every record.
  • Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
    FDA's major topics are Food; Drugs; Medical Devices; Vaccines, Blood, and Biologics; Animal and Veterinary Products; Cosmetics; AND Radiation-emitting products.
  • Johns Hopkins Health Library
    This patient information site includes information about diseases and conditions, tests and procedures, recipes, nutrition, and prevention.
Get an overview of your topic.

Textbooks and Handbooks:
  • AccessMedicine - A collection of medical textbooks (e.g., Current Diagnosis and Treatment; Harrison's Internal Medicine), with overviews of diseases and conditions, lab tests, drug information, images, and more  
     
  • AccessEngineering - A collection of engineering textbooks (e.g., Handbook of Biomedical Instrumentation)
     
  • Berry and Kohn's Operating Room Technique (2021, 14th ed., still the most recent) -- Covers surgical technique, including instrumentation and equipment
     
  • Handbook of Neuroengineering -- 100+ short articles about the neural interface, prostheses, sensors and transducers, circuits and systems, brain/machine interface, neuromorphic engineering and neurocomputing, neurorehabilitation, neurorobotics, neuroinformatics, neural signal processing, neuromodulation, cognitive engineering, multifunctional neuroimaging, clinical neurotechnologies, neurotechnologies translation.  
     
  • Wheeless's Textbook of Orthopaedics (Duke University) -- NOTE:  Always check a page's revision date to make sure that the information is not too old; some of the sections are older than others

Review Articles -- These are overviews of a topic, including its history and state of the art. They are longer than most articles, and have lots of references. 
  • Engineering -- Do a search in Compendex, and add the word  "review" to the article TITLE
  • Medicine and related topics -- Do a search in PubMed, and choose "review article" (on the left, under "Article Types")
DynaMedex
  • DynaMedex covers diseases/conditions and ICD codes, approaches to patients, drugs, devices, procedures, management, evaluation, guidelines, prevention, tools, and more
Online Medical Dictionaries and Definitions
Look for books and media in "Catalyst," the library catalog.
-------------------------------
Suggested books, all online, 2020+, with the subject heading "Medical Instruments and Apparatus":
Online Medical Dictionaries and Definitions

Here are just a few of the public and private organizations for those involved in rehabilitation engineering:

  • Last Updated: Sep 13, 2024 12:06 PM
  • URL: https://guides.library.jhu.edu/biomedical
  • Print Page