Biomedical Engineering and Design
Cells and Molecules
- Journal Articles
- Genes (from NCBI)
- Methods & Protocols
- Tools and Calculators
These are the best databases for biology-related journal articles, and other kinds of information.
- BIOSIS is the major database for this topic
The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) has an amazing number of database.
- Here is their entire list of databases
Below are links to two well-known catalogs of genes and disorders.
The Current Protocols database includes calculators and tools, such as
- buffer calculator
- common laboratory recipes calculator
- G-force/RPM conversion tool
- polyacrylamide recipes calculator
Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences (advanced search) -- Short e-books about specific topics in life sciences, including cell and tissue engineering
-- Put your search words in the TITLE, to get better results
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences -- Peer-reviewed encyclopedia articles to give you an overview of your topic
NOTE: The information has probably not been updated since 2014.
- Use the search box in the middle of the page
- If you get too many hits, add more words
- If you see old results, change the sort to DATE to get the newest on top
Videos and Images
- Bassett Collection of Stereoscopic Images of Human Anatomy
- Image Gallery Gateway (DOE; U.S. Department of Energy) -- Includes images of the Genomic Science Program and the Human Genome Project)
- Gray's Anatomy Online -- Includes a lot of explanation
- Hardin MD - Medical Pictures/Disease Pictures
- Microbe Library (ASM; American Society of Microbiology)