RefWorks

Tips and tricks for using RefWorks to manage citations, create bibliographies, and share citations.

In-text Citations

A bibliography is a list of the information sources (references) you used.
Use in-text citations (that is, citations added throughout your paper) to tell your readers which references go with which statements in your paper.

Different styles, such as APA, MLA, Chicago, or AMA, have different formats for in-text citations.

Example of "author/date" :

(Robot Ethics:The Ethical and Social Implications of Robotics. P. Lin et al., eds., 2011)

Example of reference NUMBERS, in the order that you used them:

(Walbring and Yumakulov, Social Robots: Views of Staff of a Disability Service Organization, Intl J. Social Robotics, August 2014)

First: Put all of the references that you will be using into one folder.
  • This is necessary because Refworks cannot pull references from more than one folder
  • Make sure to label that folder clearly!
  1. CREATE your Word document, save it, and close it
  2. To get RefWorks Citation Manager, follow the instructions on this guide's Citation Tools page --> "PC + Mac: RefWorks Citation Manager"
  3. In Refworks, highlight the folder that contains all of the references you want to use
  4. Make sure to give your "UNTITLED PROJECT" (at the top of the page) a name! For example, "Robots." (To do that: click on the down arrow, choose "Manage Projects," then choose "Create New Project")


     
  5. Open your Word document and open RefWorks Citation Manager -- the pane will open on the right
  6. Go to "Create Bibliography" (on top)
  7. Make sure the style is correct, and Continue
  8. Highlight the folder containing all of the references for your paper
  9. Click the box for one or more of your references, and then click the clipboard:


     
  10. Go to your paper, and paste:


     
  11. You can add more citations from your folder of references, and insert them anywhere:

 

Some styles, such as AMA and IEEE, require that your bibliography/reference list be in the order that you used the references, and NOT alphabetical.
 
First: Put all of the references that you will be using into one folder.
  • This is necessary because Refworks cannot pull references from more than one folder
  • Make sure to label that folder clearly!
     
  1. CREATE your Word document, save it, and close it
  2. To get RefWorks Citation Manager, follow the instructions on this guide's Citation Tools page, for PC or Mac
  3. In Refworks, highlight the folder that contains all of the references you want to use
  4. Make sure to give your "UNTITLED PROJECT" (at the top of the page) a name! For example, "Robots." (To do that: click on the down arrow, choose "Manage Projects," then choose "Create New Project")


     
  5. Open your Word document and open RefWorks Citation Manager -- the pane will open on the right
  6. Go to "Create Bibliography" (on top)
  7. Make sure the style is correct, and Continue
  8. Open your Word document, click on RCM, and click on the icon on the left:


     
  9. A pane will open on the right side of your Word document.
     
  10. Click on the 3 lines on the top left of the pane, and choose your citation style.
     
  11. Then, to go BACK to your reference list, click "References homepage in the pane."

    Also, if you want to SEE your bibliography appear as you add each reference, make sure "Bibliography" is ON (unless the note says that you can't do that with your citation style):


     
  12. In the text, click where you want to add the in-text citation, then click on the reference in the pane. The number for that citation will appear where you want it in the text.