Biomedical Engineering and Design
Find Journal Articles, News, and More
Save your time! Use these search techniques:
- Put quotation marks around PHRASES (two or more words), so that the words are searched together
--- Example: "chicken pox"
- Put an asterisk at the end of words, so that you get all of the word endings
--- Example: high* = high, highs, higher, highest
- Think of alternate spellings or synonyms
--- "cyber security" OR cybersecurity -- it's used both ways. You should also add "information security" OR "computer security"
- Start by putting your search words in the Title. If you get nothing, you can take them out of the Title and move them to "Anywhere."
Get an overview of your topic by searching textbooks and review articles.
MedlinePlus.gov -- This National Library of Medicine site is the FIRST place you should go for health information.
"Health Topics" is the link to medical information, and there are also links to a medical encyclopedia and dictionary.
AccessMedicine - A collection of medical textbooks (e.g., Harrison's Internal Medicine), with overviews of diseases and conditions, lab tests, drug information, images, and more
Wheeless's Textbook of Orthopaedics (Duke University) is also a good source of information.
Note: Always check a page's revision date to make sure that the information is not too old.
AccessEngineering - Collections of engineering textbooks, including several about device design
Note: Just use the search box on the top right.
Review Articles -- These are overviews of a topic, including its history and state of the art. They are longer than most articles, and have lots of references.
Statistics -- This page lists sources for data and statistics.
Finding Information about BME and Everything Else
1. Library home page --> Articles and Databases --> DATABASES
2. Click "Browse all databases"
3. Choose a subject to see the databases with information about it.
4. In each list, start with the databases under CORE -- they are the best and most relevant
- For a description about what's in the database, click "More Info" next to the database name
6. Patents -- Please go to the Patents page on the Engineering guide, and take your time reading through the information. Looking for patents can take some time, so be patient.
7. News -- News items can give you the most recent information about products, companies, and other information sources about your topics.
- Here is the list of newspapers and other news sources
- Business news -- start with ABI/INFORM, then look at the others in the Business list
8. Broad Search for Articles -- Any database on the EBSCO platform or the PROQUEST platform will allow you to search ALL of the databases on that platform.
- On the library home page, use Articles and Databases --> Databases --> Database by Name.
- Then enter "Academic Search Ultimate," and check any other EBSCO databases that you want to search
9. Very Broad Search for Articles -- see the Google Scholar page
For time-saving tips about how to use Google Scholar, see the Google Scholar page in this guide.
Measurement / Classification
Rehabilitation Measures Databases (from Shirley Ryan Activity Lab)
- Communication Function Classification System (CFCS)
- Gross Motor Function Classification System (GMFCS), and more information
- Manual Ability Classification System (MACS)
Note that the codes in HCPCS Level II are used to classify "durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, and supplies" (DMEPOS), because these are not included in HCPCS Level I (which is the CPT) [see also this guide's page about "Codes and Classifications"]
- American Academy of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation (AAPMR)
- Consortium for Citizens with Disabilities
- National Assistive Technology Act Technical Assistance and Training (AT3) Center -- A "clearinghouse for information and resources on many different assistive technologies. It will help you identify AT devices and services in the environments of education, employment, and community living for all ages and functional abilities."
- National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research (NCMRR)
- National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR)
- National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) -- This is the library of NIDILRR
- PM&R Knowledge Now -- This is AAPMR's (American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation) online library
- RESNA (Rehabilitation Engineering Society of North America)
AbleData -- Was discontinued in September 2020. It shared "information to assist domestic and international customers and their family members, vendors, distributors, organizations, professionals and caregivers in understanding assistive technology (AT) options and programs available." Its publications are available at NARIC (see above)
AbleData was not a government site -- it received funding from National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR), which is a Center within the Administration for Community Living (ACL), in the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).
The library's Citing guide gives examples for the three main reference styles and some others, including IEEE.
Always check the style to make sure your citation manager (which I hope is RefWorks) didn't leave anything out.
- Undergrads: Here are two examples of conference papers.
(If you can't get in, go to library home page --> Articles and Databases --> Google Scholar tab, and paste in the article title. Then click the little arrow under the citation to see the FINDIT link).
Future Trends in Exergaming using MS Kinect for Medical Rehabilitation
Universal Design for Enhancing Accessibility of the Visually Impaired in Touristic Environments
--- The "download" link is after the keywords:
- Undergrads: Here also is an example of how to format a paper for an IEEE conference.
Also, here is IEEE's template for conference papers. (Note: the library does not have Overleaf.)
For Writing Help
Plagiarism -- It is extremely important to make sure that your writing does not use someone else's work without properly acknowledging it. Even "paraphrasing" (putting someone else's writing into your own words) must be done in a very careful way.
These tutorials will help you learn the basics of avoiding plagiarism. You will always need to know this, not only during your academic career, but throughout your professional career, too.