Biomedical Engineering and Design
Find Journal Articles, News, and More
Also see the Engineering guide for information about patents, standards, and more.
Save your time! Use these search techniques:
- Put quotation marks around PHRASES (two or more words), so that the words are searched together
--- Example: "chicken pox"
- Put an asterisk at the end of words, so that you get all of the word endings
--- Example: high* = high, highs, higher, highest
- Think of alternate spellings or synonyms
--- brain OR neural; healthcare OR "health care"
- Start by putting your search words in the Title. If you get nothing, you can take them out of the Title and move them to "Anywhere."
Get an overview of your topic by searching textbooks and review articles.
MedlinePlus -- This National Library of Medicine site is the FIRST place you should go for health information.
"Health Topics" is the link to medical information, and there are also links to a medical encyclopedia and dictionary.
AccessMedicine - A collection of medical textbooks (e.g., Harrison's Internal Medicine), with overviews of diseases and conditions, lab tests, drug information, images, and more
Wheeless's Textbook of Orthopaedics (Duke University) is also a good source of information.
Note: Always check a page's revision date to make sure that the information is not too old.
AccessEngineering - Collections of engineering textbooks, including several about device design
Note: Just use the search box on the top right.
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science -- These are NOT textbooks, but rather short ebooks that will introduce you to specific areas within these topics. Use the search box at the top to search in all series simultaneously.
Review Articles -- These are overviews of a topic, including its history and state of the art. They are longer than most articles, and have lots of references.
Statistics -- This page lists sources for data and statistics.
Market Research -- This page has the best databases for market forecasts and information in our field.
Articles: where to Start
- Other sources listed in the Engineering database list
Finding Information about BME and Everything Else
1. Library home page --> Articles and Databases --> DATABASES
2. Click "Browse all databases"
3. Choose a subject to see the databases with information about it.
4. In each list, start with the databases under CORE -- they are the best and most relevant
- For a description about what's in the database, click "More Info" next to the database name
6. Patents -- Please go to the Patents page on the Engineering guide, and take your time reading through the information. Looking for patents can take some time, so be patient.
7. News -- News items can give you the most recent information about products, companies, and other information sources about your topics.
- Here is the list of newspapers and other news sources
- Business news -- start with ABI/INFORM, then look at the others in the Business list
8. Very Broad Search for Articles -- see the Google Scholar page
- Attached is a short patent about a wearable device that detects symptoms of hypoglycemia
For time-saving tips about the best ways to use Google Scholar, see the Google Scholar page in this guide.
The library's Citing guide gives examples for the three main reference styles and some others, such as AMA and IEEE.
Note if you want to publish in an ASME journal:
- ASME journals use the Chicago Manual of Style, but not for in-text citations or bibliographies
- For guidance about in-text citations and bibliographies, please look at the attachment below
For Writing Help