Biomedical Engineering and Design

Information specific to BME and BME/CBID design teams.

Find Journal Articles, News, and More

Also see the Engineering guide for information about patents, standards, and more.
 
Save your time! Use these search techniques:
  • Put quotation marks around PHRASES (two or more words), so that the words are searched together
    --- Example: "chicken pox"
     
  • Put an asterisk at the end of words, so that you get all of the word endings
    --- Example: high* = high, highs, higher, highest
     
  • Think of alternate spellings or synonyms
    --- brain OR neural; healthcare OR "health care"
     
  • Start by putting your search words in the Title. If you get nothing, you can take them out of the Title and move them to "Anywhere."

Get an overview of your topic by searching textbooks and review articles.

 

Textbooks (all online)

Review Articles -- These are overviews of a topic, including its history and state of the art. They are longer than most articles, and have lots of references. 

  • Engineering -- Do a search in Compendex, and add the word  "review" to the article TITLE

  • Medicine and related topics -- Do a search in PubMed, and choose "review article" (left, under "Article Type");
    in EMBASE, do a search, then "review" (on left, under "publication types"); also see the PubMed and EMBASE page on this guide for screenshots of EMBASE's "devices" features

Consumer Information:

  • MedlinePlus.gov -- This National Library of Medicine site is the FIRST place you should go for health information.
    "Health Topics" is the link to medical information, and there are also links to a medical encyclopedia and dictionary.

Statistics -- This page lists sources for data and statistics.

Market Research -- This page has the best databases for market forecasts and information in our field.

Articles: where to Start

 

Finding Information about Everything Else
 

1. Library home page --> Databases

2.  Click "Browse list of databases"

Library home page, databases link


3. Choose a subject to see the databases with information about it.
 

undefined


4. In each list, start with the databases under CORE -- they are the best and most relevant 

  • For a description about what's in the database, click "More Info" next to the database name

5. Technical info -- Use the databases in the Engineering list (starting with Compendex) and Computer Science list

6. Patents -- Go to the Patents page on the Engineering guide, and take your time reading through the information. Looking for patents can take some time, so be patient.

7. News -- News items can give you the most recent information about products, companies, and other information sources about your topics.

8. Very Broad Search for Articles -- see the Google Scholar page

For time-saving tips about the best ways to use Google Scholar, see the Google Scholar page in this guide.

The library's Citing guide gives examples for the three main reference styles and some others, such as AMA and IEEE.

If you're using RefWorks, here's an example of how folders can help you organize your references.

  • You should number each section so that's in the order you want, instead of RefWorks' default alphabetical order
  • Note that you can create subfolders, as shown under folders 3 and 4

----------------------
For Writing Help

RefWorks is the citation manager that is supported by JHU. It is free for you.
 
  • Citation managers let you export citations FROM databases INTO the manager, so that you can put them into separate folders, and print out a bibliography in whatever style you want
     
  • Here is our guide about how to use it

Use the NEW RefWorks! Log in here.
  • Here are video tutorials about new RefWorks
     
  • NEVER search from WITHIN RefWorks; always search from within the database itself