Sources of Health-Related Statistics
The Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) is a major source health care statistics. Here are some links within the CDC website for various types of data.
- CDC Home Page
A good starting point for exploring the CDC. Find links to pages on specific diseases and conditions, a data & statistics section, statistics on accidents, etc.
- CDC--Diseases & Conditions
List of links to pages on specific diseases and conditions. Each page contains disease description, background, diagnosis and treatment info, incidence & prevalence stats, and links to non-governmental websites focusing on each disease.
- CDC--Data & Statistics
Links to pages with disease-specific stats, stats by state, health insurance access stats, disability info, birth and mortality data, cancer registry, risk factors, occupational hazards, and much more.
- CDC--National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Use the FastStats feature to find data on how people use health services: hospital utilization statistics by diagnosis and procedure, ambulatory care, nursing home care, ER visits, hospice services, etc. Also is a source of stats on diseases and conditions.
This is a public health database with statistics on causes of death, incidence of cancer and other acute and chronic diseases, behavioral risk factors, health and nutrition, environmental health, and much more.
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
The NIH's various sections may have summary pages about diseases and conditions (like on the CDC website) that are not covered on other websites or in other databases.
The data is collected and supplied from agencies from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as well as state partners. This includes the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), and the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, among others.
- Health Services Research Information Central
Maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), this site is a huge collection of links to health information resources both inside and outside the federal government. Links are grouped by topic under the "Data, Tools & Statistics" section.
Maintained by the Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality, this is a web-searchable version of the more detailed (and harder to access) HCUP database. Covers utilization and expenditures on inpatient and outpatient health care services by ICD-10-CM code.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS). A set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers (doctors, hospitals, pharmacies, etc.), and employers across the United States. MEPS collects data on the specific health services that Americans use, how frequently they use them, the cost of these services, and how they are paid for, as well as data on the cost, scope, and breadth of health insurance held by and available to U.S. workers. Overseen by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
National Cancer Institute SEER database. An enormous database of statistics about incidence of cancer, outcomes, and much more. A lot of the information is free and easily searchable by type of cancer, type of data, and patient demographic characteristics.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
A compendium of statistics, mostly from governmental sources, covering a wide range of fields in the U.S.: health care, industry, geography, state-specific statistics, manpower data, and much much more.
- Integrated Health Interview Survey (IHIS)
Based on the U.S. National Health Interview Survey, IHIS is a source for downloadable, in-depth datasets capturing individuals' health and health care utilization behavior. While the datasets require knowledge of detailed statistical files, an online report generator produces ad hoc reports on a wide range of variables (e.g., "Do you have a regular health care provider?")
AAMC Physician Workforce Statistics. Statistics on physicians by specialty and type of institution/location, nationally and by state. New data are published each year.
These library-subscribed databases include statistics or data on a wide range of topics. Search them to find sources you may have missed.
Statista: The Statistics Portal
Contains statistics and analysis on a wide range of topics, such as health care, economics, industry, market research, social issues, and much more. Covers the globe.
Collects together documents, from a wide range of governmental and private sources, containing statistics and analysis on many topics including health care.
Another resource similar to Statistical Insight, but with data mapping and table-creation capabilities.
Intended for clinical practitioners, contains voluminous global information on epidemiology and treatment of almost every disease and condition. Good source of statistics on incidence and prevalence of diseases.
Data & Statistics Research Guide
This online guide from our data librarian is dedicated to sources of datasets on many topics.
Cortellis Competitive Intelligence
Use this database from Clarivate Analytics to track over 60,000 individual drugs throughout their development cycle. Generate reports and visualizations on patent filings, companies and universities, clinical trial stages and funding deals—searchable by disease, process, drug characteristics, developer, or location of developing entity. View the extensive collection of research reports, conference presentations and upcoming conference previews. Access through SSO (single sign-on) with your JHU ID/password.
- All Payer Claims Database (APCD)A national initiative to standardize, collect, and disseminate provider-specific and patient-specific health service data. Several states have available data, with each state having its own access criteria and process.
World Health Organization (WHO)Gathers and reports on all types of data and other information on the world and individual countries--individuals' health status, health systems by country, mortality and birth rates, per capita expenditures on health care, and much more. Look especially at the following tabs: Data & Statistics, Countries, & Programs.
OECD Health StatisticsProvides a wide range of health statistics for 26 countries going back several years: mortality, morbidity, perceived health status, dental health, child health, health manpower, determinants of health, health systems attributes, etc.
Demographic & Health Surveys (Measure DHS-USAID).International database of population and health surveys covering over 70 countries. Depending on what you want, users may need to create an account and in some cases request data in advance. Some datasets require statistical package for viewing. However, the STATCOMPILER feature within the “Data” tab allows for online table generation.
- EurostatStatistics on health care, population, and other indicators for European Union members.
- National Health Service DigitalHealth Care Delivery statistics for the United Kingdom. Quite detailed.
These private organizations often fund research on key topics that are not covered by federal agencies. They also work in conjunction with federal agencies on certain projects.
- Health News Review
Contains carefully selected articles, from a wide range of sources, on specific health conditions, diagnostic methods, and treatments. Keyword searchable and very reliable/authoritative.
- National Cancer Institute Seer Database
"The" official source for statistics on specific types of cancer.
- Dartmouth Atlas of Health
Contains extensive data on health care use and expenditure variations by location within the U.S. (e.g., tonsillectomy rates by state), with an eye toward documenting disparities in access, efficiency, and cost. Data is presented by topic, region, and individual hospital.
An independent organization focusing on best practices in health care, alternative delivery systems, global health issues, chronic care, patient safety, and more--all focusing on creating the most rational, efficient, effective health care system possible.
IOM is the health care arm of the National Academy of Sciences. It is an independent organization that reports on policy issues independently and upon request by federal agencies. It has reported on public health, biomedical research, diseases, quality and patient safety, access and coverage, veterans' health, health care workforce, women's health, aging, and lots more.
This independent arm of Kaiser Permanente conducts extensive research on access to health care services, the impact of various insurance models on patient behavior, health reform, global health, and women's health issues.
Covers health care's effects on people's lifestyles, veterans' health issues, and numerous surveys that include questions on peoples use of health care services and attitudes toward health programs.
Point to the "Research" tab and click on "Health & Health Care" to find research, analysis, and quantitative info on various diseases, health care cost, health care facilities, health care quality, health economics, primary care, and many more topics
RWJ focuses on children's health, health care coverage, alternative delivery methods, disease prevention, vulnerable populations, nursing and much more.
Conducts research and writes in-depth reports on topics such as health system performance, health care delivery, health care coverage, vulnerable populations, state health policy, and health reform.
- Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (CAHPS)
Click on the CAHPS database link to access AHRQ's comparative consumer opinion data on quality of service at hospitals and other providers
- Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ)
Federal agency that conducts, funds, collects, and reports on research about cost effectiveness, value, and quality in the delivery of health care services.
Patient safety non-profit working in conjunction with the U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), and conducting its own annual surveys. Offers safety scores for over 2,000 U.S. acute care hospitals, focusing on hand-washing practices, bed sores, falls, etc.
- American Hospital Association (AHA) Annual Survey and IT Databases via Wharton Research Data Service
The Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS) is available to JHU faculty, staff and students who register and receive approval for an account, specifically for academic research. Please allow up to two business days for the registration and authentication process. Among the library’s selected subscriptions through it is the American Hospital Association (AHA) Annual Survey for demographic, operational, staffing, employment model, insurance and utilization characteristics for more than 6,000 U.S. hospitals. Use the supplemental AHA IT database to analyze healthcare IT indicators and technology integration within over 3,500 hospitals.
American Hospital Directory (AHD)This link leads to a Welch Library webpage with the login details. Once logged in, set criteria. Explore sections of hospital profiles on quality, utilization, financial results, etc. One user at a time can access this database. Please log out in top corner when done.