- Khan AcademyThis free site from Khan Academy is highly regarded for its interviews, case studies, and short videos and exercises on business, financial, economics, math and science concepts. Use for test prep, refreshers or background.
Homewood Campus (Course Reserves)
Eisenhower Library Course Reserves Service
Homewood Campus and
Carey Business School-Harbor East Library
Quick Movie Search
Find Films by Topic
Search the libraries' catalog, Catalyst, for DVDs, videos and other physical multi-media materials below.
Search within these videostreaming collections or Catalyst to obtain instantaneous, online access to films related to business, management, finance, marketing, information technology, economics, career planning and other topics. The library's course readings service can configure links to desired films, segments or clips to embed in your course sites.
- Films On Demand Business and Economics Videostreaming CollectionAccess entire films or segments from Business and Economics collection and a small collection of documentaries from various producers.
- Henry Stewart Talks The Business and Management CollectionThis regularly updated collection of audiovisual presentations by recognized experts includes over 900 talks. The talks are organized into categories and series, including Economics; Finance and Accounting; Global Business Management; Management, Leadership and Organization; Marketing and Sales; Strategy; and Technology and Operations.
- Kanopy Streaming VideoKanopy's growing online documentary video streaming service distributes films from BBC, PBS, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources and other production houses. Kanopy offers over 25,000 videos across diverse content areas.
- Academic Video Online (AVON)This streaming service from Proquest and Alexander Street includes videos in various subject areas, including business and health. Click on Collections for 60 Minutes shows from 1997-2014. Click on Channels for PBS and CNN content. Search on Bloomberg to access the Bloomberg L.P channel for Bloomberg News. Sort results by date.
Notes: Some content from Sony Pictures Classics imposes DRM restrictions which limit to US-based viewership only. Users have reported problems with video playback on older versions of web browsers, particularly Firefox. Please update your browser to the most current version.
- Docuseek2 Complete CollectionLog in with your JHED ID and password to access streamed documentaries and films on social issues. Note: Users reported problems with video playback on older versions of web browsers, particularly Firefox. Please update your browser to the most current version.
- O'Reilly for Higher EducationInstruction and reference materials on computer programming, technology, career development and business transformation. The platform includes books, videos, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books and structured learning paths.
- LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)Formerly known as Lynda.com, this resource provides access to online courses, videos and tools to improve business and technology skills. Alternative access exists under the Education section of your Johns Hopkins Portal account (https://my.jh.edu). Connecting your LinkedIn profile to your LinkedIn Learning account is possible.
- SkillportOnline training resources include books, videos and courses primarily focused on business and IT topics. Access content through this link, the library catalog (Catalyst) or a downloaded app on your mobile device. Available to Johns Hopkins students, faculty and staff with personal Johns Hopkins credentials.
Swank Digital Campus: Feature Films for Instruction
Consider Swank's Digital Campus videostreaming collection to show feature films in your classroom or online course. "The Insider" and "Twelve O'Clock High" are two popular titles used.
Follow these steps to place requests for class viewings.
- Go to the Digital Campus website. Use the keyword search box or the topic guides to identify available titles.
- If you find an appropriate title, contact Reserves at Reserves@jhu.edu with your request. Staff will evaluate each request individually. Candidates for consideration are titles used by multiple sections of a course, more than one instructor or more than one location.
- After weighing the pros and cons of a streaming license versus other means of availability, Reserves staff will coordinate the arrangements on your behalf.
Viewing Business DVDs
Business "reference" films are non-circulating due to their high cost, high demand and shared use by multiple campuses. Individuals may view them in the Eisenhower Library's Audio-Visual Center.
Options for Faculty Preview or Classroom Use:
- Reserve an Audio-Visual viewing room in the Eisenhower Library for your class.
- Through your campus librarian or the course reserves service, request a film for classroom viewing at a Johns Hopkins campus on a particular date. Films are checked out to the campus libraries for a two-week period to accommodate the show date and transportation to and from the center. Please make arrangements several weeks ahead to ensure availability by the desired date.
- Faculty can check out a film for three days for course planning purposes or classroom use at another Johns Hopkins campus.