Locate key business information resources for academic research.
Core Print Resources
Use these core ratio resources to compare a company's performance to itself over time or to its peers within an industry. Coverage of industries and data varies by resource. Contents usually are organized by broad-level industry category or industrial classification codes. Consult the introductions for formulae and definitions.
Check Catalyst, the JHU Libraries' catalog, for additional locations and historical editions.
- Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial RatiosCall Number: B-Level HF 5681 .R25 T68
- RMA Annual Statement StudiesCall Number: A-level General Reference HF 5681 .B2 R58
- Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (Dun and Bradstreet)Call Number: A-level General Reference HF 5681 .R25 I53View Databases section for links to current and historical versions.
- BizMinerAn industry-specific database of average financial statement data for the most recent 5 years available. It includes dollar amount, percent-of-total, and business ratio figures by line item for income statements, balance sheets, and sources and uses statements. Reports are customized by geographic location and company size range. A separate database has income statement statistics and ratios for micro firms (sole proprietorships and startups). Also includes “Competitive Market Analyzer” and “Industry Market Reports” that provide market situational analyses by industry and geographic area, containing data on number of firms, firm size, firm entry and exit trends, revenue and employment trends.
- Hoover's OnlineRefer to the digitized RMA Annual Statement Studies page within Hoover's company profiles for benchmark data.
- Key Business Ratios (Current Data)Examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B®’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios for public and private companies in 800 lines of business. Choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios. To supplement, historical access to content from the print editions of Dun & Bradstreet’s Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios, dating back to 1979, is available through a different library database-- Mergent Archives.
- Mergent ArchivesThe “Key Business Ratios” tab, an excellent supplement to the separate Key Business Ratios (current data) database, contains the content of past print editions of this valuable resource dating back to 1979. Narrowly defined industry groupings provide micro level detail of income statement and balance sheet ratios by size of company.
- Mergent IntellectBusiness directory profiles include Dun and Bradstreet's key business ratios among other financial information.
- Mergent Online by FTSE RussellView the tabs and sub-tabs in "financials" folder of a company profile for specific figures and ratios. Use the Reports feature in profiles, or the advanced search function in this database, to create your own reports that include desired ratios.
- S&P NetadvantageThe S&P Capital IQ NetAdvantage database is a rich resource for in-depth company and industry analysis, news, and information on executives, stocks, bonds, and mutual funds. View links to left of a company profile. Refer to peer comparison charts in the back of particular Industry Surveys for financials and ratios.
- Value Line Investment SurveyThe online version of the Value Line Investment Survey (standard edition) provides data and analysis for approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. This reputable resource is backed by a research staff of more than 70 experienced independent professional security analysts.View online guides for methodology. Price per earnings (P/E) ratio is factored differently here than other resources.