Business

Locate key business information resources for academic research.

Basic Business Directories

These directories provide brief facts and limited financial data. For more in-depth company information, refer to the box at the bottom of this page. Additional directories are listed in Catalyst--the JHU Libraries catalog.

Consult more than one resource; coverage varies. Some sources provide exact figures; others provide estimates or ranges.

Corporate Affiliations
Corporate hierarchies and linkages for all major public and private companies and their subsidiaries worldwide. Provides business descriptions, basic financials, detailed competitor listings, brands, and service firms. Creates lists of foreign firms operating in the US and vice versa, has historical data, tracks mergers and acquisitions, and provides executive and board member listings. Database limited to one user at a time.

Gale Directory Library
Various types of organizational directories, including Ward's Business Directory, from Gale Cengage. Choose Advanced Search to search by publication.

Hoover's Academic
Profiles for publicly traded and privately held companies. Public company profiles offer more financial depth and competitive analysis. Academic subscription excludes downloading, corporate family trees, and industry reports.

Lexis-Nexis Academic
The Company Dossier feature will raise different, company-specific information than the general search. Search both for news, patents, filings, cases, and company profiles.

Mergent Archive
Supplement other Mergent databases with this scanned collection of the Mergent manuals, formerly Moody's manuals, for a historical, annual snapshot of a company. Click on the Corporate or Municipal Manual tab.

  • Industrials 1909 - Present
  • Transportation 1909 - Present
  • Public Utilities 1914 - Present
  • Bank and Finance 1928 - Present
  • Municipal and Government 1918 - Present
  • International 1981 - Present
  • Over-the-Counter (O-T-C) Industrial 1970 - Present
  • Over-the-Counter (O-T-C) Unlisted 1986 - Present

ReferenceUSA: an online phonebook
The business directory includes comprehensive coverage of public, private, nonprofit, and government organizations. Use Guided search for customized lists by industry, type of business, location, and other criteria.

ArcGIS Business Analyst
Includes business location data with selected information on sales and number of employees. Contains over 20 categories of consumer spending data, aggregated down to the block group level. Provides five and ten year population projections.  Search by industry codes and geographic region and visually plot business locations using this mapping software. Updated annually.

Dun & Bradstreet's records exist in Mergent Intellect, Mergent Online by FTSE Russell and SimplyAnalytics.

SimplyAnalytics is web-based mapping and data analysis software that enables you to create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business, and marketing data. Additional components include: Dun & Bradstreet business listings, Simmons Data package, and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM. 5 concurrent users at a time are allowed. Create an account with your JHU e-mail address to save your work, or choose to enter as a guest. Please log out when done.

In-depth Company Profiles, Financials and Analysis

Use these resources for more in-depth profiles, analysis, or financial data.

International Directory of Company Histories
Simultaneously search all volumes for main entries and updates on a company.  Includes a detailed history of a company and insight into its strategy, mission, challenges, growth, and mergers and acquisitions.

Thomson One
Features in-depth information from Thomson Reuters on markets and individual companies around the globe.  Access market quotes, earnings estimates, current and historical financials and corporate filings, press releases, transaction data, company event transcripts, ownership profiles, and proprietary analyst research reports. Create customized reports using various templates.

Note: Use only with Internet Explorer. Disable pop-up blockers and go to Compatibility View Settings in the browser settings to add this database to the window, in order to allow full functionality of the database. Up to ten users can access Thomson One at a time; please log off when done.

Mergent Online by FTSE Russell
Profiles include recent and historical financials, equity prices, ratios, company filings, news and reports. Mergent also provides industry reports and analytical reporting tools.  Coverage includes U.S. public, private and international companies.

S & P Capital IQ Netadvantage
Choose Company search. Click on the links on the left of the profile for additional information and in-depth analysis by S & P Global Market Intelligence (formerly Standard and Poors). Industry Surveys include key players and their financials. Explore tabs at top of database for related information or templates for customized reports.

Privco
A key source for financial, operational, and competitive information on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. The database also includes details on mergers and acquisitions and financing arrangements.

Lexis-Nexis Academic
Use the Company Dossier link to compare companies or retrieve an in-depth company profile which includes news, financials, and analyst recommendations.

Value Line Investment Survey (Standard edition)
Perform a company search. View both the screens and the scanned reports for unique information and analysis.  Note: A limited number of simultaneous users can access at once; please log off when done.

Passport GMID
Euromonitor's database for industry, consumer, country, economic, and company information includes data and reports. Scope is national, global, or country-specific. Two types of company profiles include different content. Market share rankings are listed by company and brand.

Bloomberg Financial Service
Installed software on designated terminals at the Eisenhower Library and the JHU regional campus libraries. Access is available to current JHU faculty and students who set up a Bloomberg account with their JHU e-mail address. Read this guide for more information.

Morningstar Direct
A powerful tool to conduct research and analysis on investments of all types, from equities to mutual funds.  Includes detailed financial information about individual companies and analysts' reports.  Access this installed software from designated computers in these locations: Eisenhower Library GIS and Data Center (A Level); Harbor East Library; Washington Resource Center; Columbia Center; and Montgomery Library Resource Center.  Make an appointment with the librarian to log onto this service.

Compustat
Access to this financial data set from S&P Market Intelligence is available to current JHU faculty, staff, and graduate students who have been approved for a Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS) account.