Off-Campus Access 
DissertationsResearch Papers
AdvertisingIndustry Overviews & ReportsIndustry StatisticsProducts, Brands, Marketing and Advertising CampaignsRatiosSIC/NAICS Codes (Industrial Classification Codes)
Annual Reports, Company FilingsCorporate HierarchyDirectories & ProfilesInternational CompaniesMergers & AcquisitionsNonprofitsPrivately Held CompaniesProducts, Brands, Marketing and Advertising CampaignsRatios
AdvertisingFunding SourcesInternational MarketingNonprofits
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Business 

This guide is intended to assist JHU faculty and students in locating key business information resources that are available through the Sheridan Libraries for their academic research.
Last update: Oct 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Directories & Profiles             Print Page
  
 

Print and Electronic Business Directories

Directories provide brief facts and limited financial data. Consult more than one resource; coverage varies. Some sources provide exact figures; others provide estimates or ranges.

Additional directories are listed in the JHU Libraries Catalog.

Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations
General  Reference HG4057.A1S8
Online version in Standard & Poor's Netadvantage

Ward's Business Directory
General Reference HG4057.A1W35

also see
the rankings vols.
 
Directory of Corporate Affiliations
General Reference HG4057.A217
Online version


Electronic Directories (for JHU):

Hoover's Academic
public and private company profiles

Hoover's Company Records
public and private company profiles (through Proquest). ABI Inform Global provides these records as links in articles.

Lexis-Nexis Academic
The Business tab will raise different, company-specific information than the company limit in the General Search. Search in both.

Dun and Bradstreet's Million Dollar Database
Use Advanced search to identify public and private U.S. companies by industry or location. Criteria for inclusion is a million or more in sales, 20 or more full-time employees, or 50 or more employees at a branch.

ReferenceUSA: an online phonebook
Most comprehensive coverage of public, private, nonprofit, and government organizations. Use Guided search for customized lists by industry, yellow page heading, location, and more.

ArcGIS Business Analyst (on CD-ROM at the Eisenhower Library)
Includes business location data (over 10 million records) with selected information on sales and number of employees. Contains over 20 categories of consumer spending data, aggregated down to the block group level. Provides five and ten year population projections.  Can search by industry codes and geographic region and visually plot business locations using ArcGIS mapping software. Updated annually.

 

More In-depth Company Profiles

Use these resources for more in-depth analysis or data.

International Directory of Company Histories
General Reference HD2712.I57 1988 QUARTO
Refer to the index in the highest numbered volume to identify the volume and pages pertaining to your company (or to the parent company). Includes a detailed history of a company and insight into its strategy, mission, challenges, growth, and mergers and acquisitions.

Mergent Online
Recent and historical financials, ratios, Edgar/SEC filings, annual reports, news, industry reports, and customized reports for U.S. public and large international companies.

Standard and Poor's Netadvantage
Search on a company. Click on the links on the left of the profile for additional information. View the Stock Report and the Industry Surveys for in-depth analysis by Standard and Poors.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

  • Use the business and SEC options under General search to find brief profiles, SEC filings, and Weiss Analyst reports.
  • Use the Business tab to get an in-depth company profile, which includes news, financials, and different analyst reports (e.g. Investext).

Value Line Investment Survey (Standard edition)
Perform a company search. View both the HTML and the PDF reports for unique information and analysis. The guides, under the Support section of this resource, will assist in interpreting the PDF report.

Marketline Business Information Center
Reports by Datamonitor for U.S. and international companies uniquely include a SWOT analysis.

Disclosure Corporate Snapshots
Includes financial data for U.S. public companies, based on SEC filings.

Worldscope
Information on international companies is derived from corporate annual and 10K reports, disclosure statements, newspapers, and wire services. Records include a description of each business or company, selected financial information, key ratios, officers, and more.

Bloomberg Financial Service
Access from designated terminals at the Homewood, Downtown Baltimore, or D.C. libraries. Access is available to current JHU faculty and students via password.

Compustat
Access is available to current JHU faculty, staff, and graduate students who have been approved for a Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS) account.

 

Business Librarian

Profile ImageHeather Tapager
Contact Info:
Research Services Dept., M-Level Office #7
Sheridan Libraries
Johns Hopkins University
3400 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, Maryland 21218

410-516-8778 (phone)
410-516-8399 (fax)
Send Email

Subjects:
Business, Management, Marketing, Real Estate, Human Resources, Organizational Development, Finance, Accounting, Information Technology, Entrepreneurship, Advertising, Career Planning, Nonprofit Management, Company, Industry

 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait